Blog Post #1 Two Year Versus Four Year Degree

Many of you were probably in the same educational demographic like myself when you started at Metropolitan State University.  Having internal questions like:  Why am I here? Will I succeed in post-secondary education again? I do not like taking tests/exams. I need to get this degree in order to find a better future than where I am now! Why do I need a bachelor’s degree?

A little about myself.  I am a returning college student at Metropolitan State University continuing my post-secondary education.  Almost 11 years ago, I graduated from a high school in Saint Paul, MN called Cretin-Derham Hall.  Many of you know this school for its athletics where many famous athletes graduated (i.e. Joe Mauer, Paul Molitor, Matt Birk, Chris Weinke, etc.).  After graduating high school, I had no clue for sure what I wanted to do after high school.  I had interests in studying business, sports writing, culinary arts, coaching, or going into the military.  I finally decided to attend Century College and go for my A.A.S. in Sports Facility Management.

During my last semester at Century College, I was fulfilling internships required for completing my degree.  Many professionals were looking for work during the “great recession”; I was contending with folks who were also graduating but from four-year institutions, unemployed professionals, and individuals looking to pick up more work.  I contemplated why I was attending a two-year educational institution instead of attending a four-year educational institution. Here is an article and video post about the topic of Two Year Degrees Versus Four Year Degrees: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/09/two-year-degrees-vs-four-year-degrees_n_2439934.html

While getting closer to finishing my associate’s degree.  I decided that I needed to step up my resume by building up my work experience.  Therefore, I found work/internships/college service learning programs and/or jobs related to sports, management, communication, and event management.  I had achieved many work experiences to complement my educational background.  I found work and internships at Xcel Energy Center, the Minnesota Twins, Mariucci and Ridder Arenas, Target Center, and Cretin-Derham Hall High School.  I thought having lots of work experience would assist me in obtaining a full-time job rather than attending a four-year educational institution.

After attending and graduating from Century College, I found myself frustrated, confused, and agitated again because I was being passed by in job employment opportunities because I was competing with other candidates who attended a four-year college.  I finally talked to my godmother who at the time was just finishing her Master’s degree and was working at Metropolitan State University.  She encouraged me to attend Metropolitan State and complete a four-year degree.

President Obama recently proposed that Congress should pass a bill making two years of community college free.  I like the idea of bettering our society, but I do agree with many educators that two-year degrees are not enough.  Many positions such as a financial analyst, college professor, sales manager, and nurse do require at least a four-year degree.  Here is a link showing a video in which President Obama provides a preview of his 2015 State of the Unions address, including his proposal for two free years of community college:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-QDfEMXAgk

“>

2 thoughts on “Blog Post #1 Two Year Versus Four Year Degree

  1. I can totally relate to this. I graduated high school almost eleven years ago, too. Back then, I seem to remember two-year degrees having more merit. I came across countless jobs that only required an Associate’s. I finally went back to school three years ago, thinking to myself that it would be great to get a Bachelor’s or even a Master’s, but a two-year would be a good start and would help me find a better job. I finished Century last year and no such luck. There are exceptions, but Associate’s degrees today are almost meaningless. Even worse, every job I have looked at with hopes of applying to when I graduate all require past experience in that field, which is kind of a catch 22.

  2. I wonder if because more and more people are attending college and getting 4 year degrees it makes getting a 4 year degree the new “norm” when it comes to getting a job. If someone with a 4 year degree applies for a position an applicant that doesn’t have one doesn’t stand a chance.

Leave a Reply

