Blog Post #6: Hey, Graduate! Have You Thought of Thi$

I am getting close to graduation.  One of the many questions I am asking myself is whether to pursue relocating for a job outside of Minnesota.  Should I even be looking for jobs out of town?  I am addressing this questions because I am curious about researching the job markets outside of the twin cities.  I have lived in the twin cities my whole life since I arrived from South Korea and have always imagined that I would find a job in Minnesota.  However, I am almost 30 and am still working a series of part time jobs with no full time employment in sight.  I have applied for jobs with The Minnesota Twins, The Arizona Coyotes, and a sports facility in Milwaukee.  I would like to find a full time position in Minnesota, but I may need to move out of state if nothing turns up within the next six months.

relocate

An article I found from http://discovercorrections.com/blog/Willing-to-Relocate-5-Strategies-to-Successfully-Obtain-Long-Distance-Job lists 5 strategic tips if willing to relocate.  The list consists of:

  1. State your intention and state your timeline
  2. Show interest and knowledge about the location
  3. Ask for an introductory remote phone and/or video interview, with in-person follow-up
  4. Be willing to show up for in-person for testing and/or an interview
  5. Set funds aside now for a related job search travel ,as well as an upcoming move, or planning to move ahead of time

So far I have had a phone interview with one organization.  It turned out they were looking for someone immediately and I wasn’t able to meet their timeline.  I had to cancel another phone interview because I didn’t have the time to properly prepare and research the company.  I’ve had experience with two of the tips from the Discover Corrections blog.

I found an article in Forbes by a writer who lists questions that you should ponder before heading out to that interview.  http://www.forbes.com/sites/jacquelynsmith/2013/06/17/20-questions-to-ask-yourself-before-you-relocate-for-a-job/2/  I feel this article can help the person get a job  as well as helping them decide that they really might not want the job.  Some examples of questions are:

Where will I live?

What does the future of this company or position look like?

What are the benefits of relocating for this job? Do they outweigh the obstacles?

Is the culture of the new company and new city a good match for me and my family?

What am I leaving behind?

What’s my backup plan if things don’t work out?

My concern that I view important is what’s my plan B if things don’t work out?  Just recently Target Corporation just hired a group of young people who recently just got laid off after only about six months of work.  Nobody saw that coming, hopefully they all had a plan B for fall back on.

A third article I found at U.S.News.com (http://money.usnews.com/money/blogs/outside-voices-careers/2014/09/08/5-hidden-costs-of-a-new-job) relates to additional expenses you might encounter when you are accept a new position.  This blog gives advice about expenses you should factor in when you first get your paycheck.  I probably would have never figured this out before getting my first paycheck from a new employer.

  1. Commuting expenses
  2. Insurance premiums or deductibles
  3. COBRA coverage for any uninsured period between your old insurance stops and when your new coverage begins
  4. Professional clothing
  5. Lunch and other extras

Did I mention CNN has a “Cost of Living Calculator” http://money.cnn.com/calculator/pf/cost-of-living/.  I think this device from CNN can help a job seeker with salary negotiation.  It reminds you to think about expense such as groceries, housing, utilities, transportation, and health care.

In my research the two postings I found most helpful are the Forbes 20 questions and the CNN calculator.

One thought on “Blog Post #6: Hey, Graduate! Have You Thought of Thi$

  1. I like your blog. I am also considering moving back to California when I have completed my degree, and there are so many different obstacles to keep in mind.

Leave a Reply

