Oh No, My Mom Joined Facebook. -Jennae Blog 4

With Mothers Day right around the corner I can’t help but think about how much I care for my mom.  My mom and I have a very good relationship.  She knows everything about me, probably more things then she would like to know. A couple years ago on Mother’s Day I got my mom a Kindle and with that came her first question,” Can you make me one of those Facebook things?”  At first I was hesitant because I knew the knowledge my mother lacked in anything technical.  But I caved.  Making her a profile picture, a cover photo, and her first status took up waaay too much time.

Then came all the questions about who was able to view what she was posting and what did it mean when you hit the “like” button?! This was followed up by months of her accidentally posting things she didn’t mean to post.  She also over commented on everyones pictures and then even convinced my grandma to get a Facebook.  She would also make comments on my status’s asking where I was and what time I would be home.. as a then 18 year old I found this unbelievably annoying and embarrassing.

Funny part of this whole thing is most of the time she never could figure how to post a status or how to post a picture. And when she found out about things like “throwback Thursday” lets just say too many embarrassing photos of my sisters and I were unleashed to the Facebook world. After that incident I  basically  became the person that was running her Facebook.  I always had to write her status’s or post her pictures.  And don’t get me started on how she could never even grasp the concept of what “tagging” a person in a photo meant.  I love my mom to death but needless to say, Facebook made so easily frustrated with her! I know I am not the only one who has had this happen!

-Jennae Stodghill

Leave a Reply

