Student Loans-Marissa S.

Student loans are great. I mean, they help us get an education, which leads to a great job with a nice salary and benefits, right? Maybe. Well of course having a college education is pretty much required these days in order for you to get your dream job, or just a stable job, or to get promoted. We are all in school for different reasons, but I’m sure we all have plenty of experience with student loans. The Institute for College Access & Success (TICAS) notes that in 2012, 66% of graduates of public colleges graduated with student loans. That seems about right, and that number has probably increased in the past three years. TICAS also mentions that the “average debt level for all graduating seniors with student loans rose to $29,400 in 2012.”

As someone that went to a private university for two years, then took time off, and then got my Associate’s, I have plenty of student loan debt. Which is why when I came to Metro, my husband and I resolved to pay for everything out of pocket, no more loans. It is already hard enough to keep track of the three loans I am paying off from the other schools I attended, without adding even more and going into debt further. We are now looking into consolidating my student loans to help ease the burden and make it easier to keep track of everything and pay it off. The Federal Student Aid website has a lot of great, relevant, and helpful information to assist in deciding to consolidate or not, and what steps you need to take. If you don’t have any student loan debt, awesome, you’re lucky. If you do, I would recommend looking into consolidating your loans or just doing more research on payment plans or ways to help yourself manage your debt, and ultimately get out of it. I know many of us, myself included, are graduating in the fall, and we should be excited! Don’t let your student loans bring you down, educate yourself and make a plan.

2 thoughts on “Student Loans-Marissa S.

  1. That is a good idea I will check out this site and see if I can get everything into one payment. I have paid off about three student loans over the years and now I am back for more!

Leave a Reply

