Breaking the Mold: Like A Girl

From the time we are born, society has instilled how we should behave, what clothes we should wear, how we should talk, the way we look, what toys we should play with, what we should look for in a partner and more.  This is society’s concept of shaping gender roles. If you deviate from this label you are shamed upon and considered deviant.

Strong Woman
Amanda flexing her muscles

 Although genders are treated differently by society, it’s not until middle school or puberty when girls start recognizing and carrying out these roles.  Females are stigmatized as weaker, less important, and inferior to their male counterparts; therefore, affecting where and how they fit into society.  This video, Always demonstrates the perception of how both male and females, old and young, portrays what it means to be “like a girl.”

 Women have come a long way to fit in today’s society and have a long ways to go before recognition; but women everyday are breaking the barrier of being stigmatized of what living in a man’s world looks like.  Women like Oprah Winfrey, Hillary Clinton, Mother Teresa, Rosa Parks, Eleanor Roosevelt, Michelle Obama, Amelia Earhart, Toni Morrison, Helen Keller, Aung San Suu Kyi, Dorothy Day, Susan B. Anthony, Williams sisters, Mo’ne Davis, Betty Friedan, and Katie Couric are empowering girls and reconstructing a new image of being strong, confident, and independent.  Boosting our girls, breaking the barriers of gender inequality, standing tall, and fighting like a girl is the new “we society.”  Proud to be a GIRL!  Join the movement in making a different for girls. #LikeAGirl

7 thoughts on “Breaking the Mold: Like A Girl

  1. Please don’t mention Hillary Clinton in the same way you speak of Aung San Suu Kyi and Mother Teresa: she has no place among truly brave women who work to benefit their people.

    For an “I am woman, here me roar” article, you seem to be short on lionesses.
    Hillary Clinton? Where’s Margaret Thatcher, who was the first woman in Britain’s highest non-royal office and made it possible for Great Britain to even have an economy?
    Oprah Winfrey? What about Ellen Sirleaf-Johnson, President of Liberia, who has done an amazing job healing her country?
    Katie Couric? How could you not think of Malala Yousafzai, who spends her time giving the finger to dung-encrusted Taliban and received a Nobel Peace Prize (actually earning it, unlike some people) and the Sakharov prize?

  2. Hillary Clinton has done a lot; not to mention the hope she provides for girls. She open the possibility of a women president.

    The list is endless of many women who have changed the world and has impacted the outlook for females. I cannot clearly name everyone, especially in 150 words, which I went over; but thank you for the added names that has made a difference.

    I am glad you support my stance.

    1. She’s done a lot for herself, more like. Have you been reading the news lately?
      In the last five years, the Clinton Foundation has spent less than fifteen percent of its budget on charitable grants, preferring to spend more money on rent, office supplies, and travel. It used to spend gobs of money on purchasing pharmaceuticals and working with care providers; this appears to have petered out in 2011.
      When she was Secretary of State, countries and companies that donated to the Clinton Foundation or paid Hubby Bill to fly out for speeches saw doors open and policies shift
      Then there’s the illegal email server that was cobbled together in her New York residence and was probably hacked on a daily–if not hourly–basis by foreign intelligence services. If nothing else this presents her complete disregard for national security–if it interferes with her personal convenience or leaves a trail that investigators could follow, she absolutely will NOT do it.
      Yes, I support strong women, but I prefer REAL strong women, the kind that don’t lie impulsively, accept payola, live high off her husband’s name, and pretends that she’s a warrior simply because she says so.
      I’m sorry, but Hillary Clinton is cynically banking on being carried to power simply because she might be the first woman president, and that is NOT a real reason to vote for somebody, especially someone so venal and almost compulsively dishonest. She was a barely adequate SecState and a senator of more hype than weight, Wait for somebody who deserves your vote.

  3. Celena, good post, I like the first two hyperlinks the most. I’m not sure I need the Always company attached to my female-positive/equality for all tweets, but if it encourages others I can’t argue that.

    Dane – you make strong points, but Celena did just happen to have Hilary Clinton in a list of many other women, and her message doesn’t appear to be “all of these women are equally perfect.” Instead, I took it as “these are women that are doing things that we want more women to do, and more young girls to see possibilities in, like holding high political positions.” Not knowing much about politics, but knowing enough that growing up as a girl I didn’t see women as a possible option for president, I can’t argue your points on Hilary. But I think with a little digging, we would find that all American politicians come with some unfavorable behavior that was done to achieve their success (of course I am very cynical of government, hence that position).
    In summation, it’s important for girls and women to focus on the positive side of these women’s accomplishments in order to give us daily hope and motivation that we, too, can achieve great things. And hopefully we will do it without the help of a famous husband. I will now go read your post on Hilary, which is what brought me back here in the first place!

  4. Good thoughts Celena.

    Dane Williams – you and I need to be friends. I wholeheartedly agree with you and completely appreciate your intelligent and well researched response. Hillary doesn’t inspire me in the least, and she will never have my vote. Yes, I think a woman could lead the United States as president…..just not her. Way back when…..when Elizabeth Dole was running for said office, I couldn’t have been more proud – she had my vote 110%.

    What’s noteworthy in mind is that women in history who make a loud, effecting impact, usually don’t do it for the sole purpose of ‘making a splash’ or under the guise of “women power”. They make changes and take stands because they are moved by selflessness & compassion, and therefore become an agent of change.

    For me personally, while I fully understand that society impacts me, I don’t live my life trying to ‘overcome’, nor do I live my life trying to figure out what might ‘please’ society. I believe in a God who created me for a purpose. That purpose is going to be and look different than others, but if I keep my eyes and focus on Him – the rest really doesn’t seem to matter much. And that’s where I find ultimate purpose, fulfillment and joy….in Christ alone.

Leave a Reply

