Careers

Careers! In the back of all our minds are careers and jobs. From the looks of things in class, I would say the majority of us are graduating this summer or fall. Congratulations! Well done! What’s next???Thinking_Man

Well, I have been thinking about this for a long time. My degree took a long time because I changed my mind a lot and worked full time through my entire college education to pay for it (which took 6 years). I was able to learn a lot and have two Assosicate’s degrees that don’t really relate to any of the others but I can’t say that I regret any of it.

So what’s next? The Guardian has an article on thinking about careers. The advice given is summed up in starting early. Start thinking about what you want to do now – before you actually graduate. Another important thing to do is identifying your skills, strengths, motivations, and values. Now, I’m sure that you have taken assessments and tests. One of the most popular assessments is the Myers Briggs personality test. The key here isn’t to learn about your personality, it’s about identifying your personality traits and learning how to apply these traits in you professional life. Check out this sweet video about the Myers Briggs test.

One Day One Job provides some neat information on Communication majors. There are a lot of choices for a broad degree but some of us have narrowed to Technical Communication, Organizational Communication, Public Relations, Technical Writing, etc.

Thinking about careers can be draining, especially if you have conflicting interests and start overthinking things like I do. I guess I try to find purpose in everything I consider for a possible career and there is an internal battle!

2321195425_edf6328434
The Movie 300

Consider this about finding work with purpose from an article in Forbes:

“Don’t be pigeonholed by your academic credentials”

“Talk about your own vision of social change”

“Understand and stand by your social purpose”

“Don’t settle”

Whether we like it or not, the time to leap for a career is now. Don’t stress too much but take it seriously. And finally (I know it’s easier said than done), do what brings you joy!

Good luck everyone! I wish you all the best.

Leave a Reply

