Waking up is hard to do: Tips to avoid hitting snooze

I don’t wanna wake up yet

We’ve all had trouble getting out of bed. Convincing yourself not to hit that snooze button… again. Wishing you had just five more minutes before you’ve got to start your busy day. There are many self-help tools out there for us to find, but I’ve done that daunting task for you and found my top 3 helpful tips and tools to get you “up and at em’ “.

Make a Morning Playlist  

Put together a playlist of some of your favorite jams to wake up to. It’ll put you in a good mood and get you energized for the day.

Put the Coffee on a Timer        

Some coffee makers have the option of a timer. Wake up with the smell of your favorite coffee. Making coffee will be one less thing to do in the morning, and something to look forward to. If you want to get super fancy check out this coffee-making alarm clock.

Unplug at Night

Waking up is difficult if you aren’t getting a solid nights sleep to begin with. An hour before you actually want to be sleeping, turn off all of you electronics. Cell phone, laptop, T.V., and lights. Your mind needs time to shut down and get away from constant stimulus in order to effectively recharge.

2 thoughts on “Waking up is hard to do: Tips to avoid hitting snooze

  1. I don’t rely on an actual alarm clock since one time the power went out during the middle of the night and my alarm did not go off at all. This is why I now use my phone because it’s battery operated.I also find it helpful to put my phone far away so that when the alarm goes off, I will have to get out of bed to turn it off. Once I’m up, I’m up. If my alarm is right next to me, I will just turn it off and go back to sleep and by the time I know it, I’m already late for work. Has happened to me before. Anyone else guilty of this?

  2. As you mentioned, staying away from any light source can help you sleep, because your brain identifies sleeping with when your environment is dark and waking up with when its light. I remember watching a documentary that said that looking at light can help you wake up as long as you don’t attempt to go back to sleep. Sleeping is a cycle for your brain, so if you postpone your wake up call in the morning by going back to sleep, it’s like telling your brain to restart your sleeping cycle which goes from light sleep to dream sleep. I’m sure that many of us have taken a “nap” in the morning with a plan for waking up in 15 minutes, but ended up waking 2 hours later (which may prove that the sleeping cycle was restarted by going back to sleep).

Leave a Reply

