BEST PHILLY CHEESE STEAK IN MN!!!

I love food, I don’t know about you guys but I LOVE food.  Not just because I need it to survive but because food represents something.  Food can represent a person culture, history and even how you feel towards people.  Food can make put a smile on anyone’s face and that is why I am writing about it today.

I decided to write about Philly Cheese Steaks because that might be my favorite american food of all time.  A few years ago I had this deep craving for a Philly but didn’t want to settle for just any.  Saddened by the fact that I lived in Minnesota and wasn’t able to teleport to Philadelphia to try one there.  I decided to do some research on restaurants here in Minnesota but kept finding restaurants like “Charley’s” and “Slim’s”.  Those places are ok but I didn’t want to settle for just “ok”, I wanted “HOLY SH&T!!! THIS IS AMAZING!!!!”.  After about 30 minutes of researching, I finally found a place.

The place was called Dominick’s Pizza and little did I know, it was going to be my favorite American restaurant.  After I read a few reviews by other customers who have tried the restaurant already, I made a final decision and went on my journey for a Philly Cheese Steak.  I lived in Brooklyn Park at the time and the restaurant was located in Inver Grove Heights, so I knew that it was going to be a long car ride but that wasn’t going to stop me.  My drive started out fairly normal but once I started to leave the city, I was a bit nervous.  The area that I was in were surrounded by nature and not a single minority face in site.  My GPS kept me company on my long drive and as the roads became curvier, I knew I was approaching my destination.

I finally arrived but with a bit of a confused look on my face.  I arrived at a gas station connected to Dominick’s Pizza and was 70% sure that I wasted my time driving all the way out here.  But since I did drive all the here, I decided to give it a try because I didn’t want to judge a book by it’s cover and I was super hungry anyways.  As I went in and approached the counter, I was excited but also nervous because I didn’t know what to expect.  After I ordered, I sat patiently waiting for this Philly Cheese Steak that I had such high expectations for.  I noticed the chef was preparing the bread for my sandwich, he placed it on a plate and brought it to me.  I was ready, I took a deep breath, gripped the sandwich with two hands and took a bite.

The first thought that ran through my mind was “Damn, this is hot” but after the heat died down and my taste buds returned my emotions ran wild.  This sandwich was amazing, the meat was thinly sliced, the veggies was fresh, the cheese was warm but the one aspect that brought everything together was the bread.  I was so shocked on how amazing this sandwich was, everything about it was just so perfect but then a question popped in to my head.  If a Philly Cheese Steak in Minnesota taste this good, then how good is a Philly Cheese Steak from Philadelphia?  I just couldn’t believe it, I thought I found the best sandwich every but how can it be if it isn’t from Philadelphia!  I thought I was going to have to make a road trip to Philadelphia that day but luckily that day, there was a softball team from Philadelphia in town for a tournament and heard about Dominick’s and decided to try it out.  While I was eating, I decided to be nosey and listen to the comments from the softball players and they gave it a thumbs up!  That was the answer I was looking for, I didn’t have to take a road trip any more and my mind was content.

This obviously was an opinionated blog about what I believe is the best Philly Cheese Steak in Minnesota but I challenge you to go out there and find one better.  Before I say farewell, let me ask you these two questions, “What is one of your favorite foods?” and “Which restaurant in Minnesota can we obtain that particular food?”.

http://dominickspizzamn.com/ (Here is a link the restaurants page)

One thought on “BEST PHILLY CHEESE STEAK IN MN!!!

  1. When I saw the title of your blog post, I KNEW you were going to say it was Dominick’s! I have lived in Eagan for 8 years but only discovered this place last year. I have been driving by it for years but like you said, it’s next to a gas station and not really noticeable. However, once you try their food, you’ll be hooked. It is so good! I’m glad you traveled to my ‘hood to try it.

Leave a Reply

