Consider Rescuing

When my husband and I finally bought our own home, we immediately knew that we wanted to get a dog. I grew up with dogs and it was a no brainer that we would always have at least one.

Where to start?

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go to a breeder and get a puppy because I had never experienced that – my family always rescued dogs from a humane society, usually ones that were already 1-2 years old.

So one day we decided to go to Petsmart. We had seen Last Hope rescue advertising that they would have a few dogs available to meet. We went without any intention of getting a dog (well, that’s what we told ourselves anyway).

Then we saw this face:

Jake face

I was in love and there was no way I was leaving without him. Since Last Hope is a rescue that has their dogs with foster families, we needed to fill out an application and have a home visit. This is a standard practice for them so they can ensure the dogs are going to a good home.

It’s been 8 years since we first met Jake and it’s been quite the ride. He came from a very abusive home, before Last Hope intervened and rescued him. Even though he was a happy-go-lucky and energetic dog, he was also very timid. As an example, my husband went to open our cupboard and Jake got so scared, he peed – thinking my husband was raising his arm to hit him.

But, this is why I love rescues. They dedicate their time to work with the animals that they take in no matter what their situation is; the animals are socialized with other pets and/or kids and are shown love, before they find their forever home. Jake was given a second chance by his foster family and we are forever grateful for having him in our lives.

Rescue Meme

There are so many dogs that don’t have homes and are in shelters. It’s so sad and I wish more people would consider rescuing before they decide they want to spend the big money and go to a breeder. Every dog (or any animal for that matter) deserves a chance!

If you Google “rescues in MN,” you’ll see many options of places that you could check out.

But for now, please enjoy my adorable rescue:

Jake collage

One thought on “Consider Rescuing

  1. I can’t put in to words how much I am sickened when animals are abused. And, conversely, how much I admire all the rescue programs and the people involved. They do amazing work. And I can also see why you couldn’t leave without Jake. That face, those eyes. I want to take him home. Great post!

Leave a Reply

