Sweat Therapy: Put on Your Gloves!

When it comes to exercise, the struggle is real! It can be extremely difficult to find that perfect fit.

I have been through many exercise programs looking for that right one; including memberships at Curves, Fitness 19, Anytime Fitness and just trying to do workout DVDs at home.

Nothing seemed right and I couldn’t stay motivated. When I was working out at Anytime Fitness, I joined a bootcamp class that was offered at my location. I found that I really loved group fitness! It was much more fun for me to experience it with other people; I didn’t feel alone. Ultimately, it was the price at Anytime that made me leave – I was paying a monthly fee plus the bootcamp was extra. No thanks.

Back to square one…

Then, a coworker introduced me to a kickboxing inspired place called 9 Round: high-energy fitness for every body type. I immediately fell in love with the group aspect of it and the fact that it’s only a 30 minute workout!

9 Round

The premise is simple: 9 rounds (stations) of 3 minute workouts with a 30 second active “rest” in between each.

Rounds consist of:

  • Cardio
  • Strength trainingBoxer
  • Core
  • Toning

Active “rests” consist of:

  • Burpees
  • Lunges
  • Mountain climbers
  • Crunches
  • …the list is endless – the purpose is to keep your heart rate up

Also, a motivating trainer is there to monitor and assist on each round. Get ready to put your gloves on for rounds 3-6! You’ll be punching and kicking your stress away.

For technology/statistics lovers, 9 Round is also hooked into MYZONE. MYZONE is a workout performance monitoring system which displays the heart rate, calories burnt and how hard you work. Your effort is even displayed on the screen while you workout so you know if you need to kick it up a notch; very motivating to see.

On average, a 9 Rounder will burn 500 calories in one 30 minute session! Here are stats from one of my recent workouts:

Stats ChartStats

If this doesn’t convince you to check it out, I don’t know what will!

 

2 thoughts on “Sweat Therapy: Put on Your Gloves!

    1. I thought the same thing when I went to my one free trial. My coworker told me that you got a 30 second active rest in between each station but I must have missed the ACTIVE part of the sentence! It’s a great workout though.

Leave a Reply

