Becoming Wild in Minnesota

Blog Post 5: Blogger as intelligent filter: the annotated link post

Wild

Everyone should be passionate about something.  If you have ever met me, you know I am a walking billboard for the Minnesota Wild.   Not just because I live in Minnesota, but because you can relate to the players.  The atmosphere at the Xcel Engery Center leaves you wanting to come back for more.

Making a connection

My dad got me into hockey.  When he was younger, he would watch the North Stars.  You see, in 1993 the North Stars moved to Dallas and most Minnesota fans felt betrayed. This left many fans wondering what they would do with their lives.  Most transitioned to watching the Vikings instead and that was that.  Then in 2000, the NHL decided to expand and two more teams were born.  The Minnesota Wild being one of them.  The state of hockey once again could watch a professional hockey team with roots to their home state.

The Minnesota Wild were not a real contender to win the Stanley Cup for many years.  The organization had to come up with other ways to attract a fan base.  They started interviewing players to get their back stories. If you have been watching the Wild on TV, then chances are you have seen a back story about a player.

Recently, a couple players had their dads pass away so there were a few specials on the life of their fathers.  Watch that video here.  This really connected with me because it made me think about my childhood and how my dad impacted me with hockey.  These players grew up with hockey and so did I.  Now, I’m just a fan, so the connection isn’t exactly the same but I still had that connection.  I’m sure others have had similar experiences and it helps build a community connection.

The atmosphere is amazing

xcelThis community connection is illustrated when you go to the Xcel Energy Center for a game.  Everyone is so warm and delightful.  You are all here for the team and to cheer them on to victory!  I think the players can feel the connection too because many players that come to Minnesota seem to stay here for the long run.  Even though going to a game can be expensive, it is worth it.

I hope this has enlightened you to at least watch the Wild on TV.  I like watching them on TV because they do back stories on the players that can really make a connection and make you feel like one of the team.  When you go to the game, you feel the connection come to life because everyone around you is there to support their team.  I hope you have found something to be passionate about, but if you haven’t this could be an option.

2 thoughts on “Becoming Wild in Minnesota

  1. I just attended my first Wild game a few weeks ago and I had such a great time that I would definitely go again! The atmosphere was incredible, it was also really fun to participate with the crowd on rooting for the team. I’m not a huge fan of hockey, but after seeing them play, I’ve been more into hockey than I was before.

  2. That’s awesome to hear! I’m glad you had a good experience at the game. We’ll get you to be a die hard yet.. Ok maybe not, but that’s awesome your interest has increased!

Leave a Reply

