New E-Cigarette, Is it safe?

E-Cigarette-Electronic_Cigarette-E-Cigs-E-Liquid-Vaping-Cloud_Chasing_(16163054247).jpg

As an individual, a family, a community, a nation, and a world, we have obligation to the well-being of ourselves, our family members, our community, our nation, and the world we live in. Why? Imagine if everyone in this world just does things however they like without considering the impact it will bring upon themselves and others, what would the world be like? We live in a very interconnected world today. Things that we do affect others and things that others do affect us, directly or indirectly.

In the context of these two links, which talk about E-cigarette, each effort is done by a different group such as the Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids and The American Lung Association. However, they are addressing similar issue. Both links aims at bringing awareness to the emergence of “electronic cigarette”, its unknown health consequences, and urging for FDA to regulate such product.

In the meanwhile, the post by Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids extends further to address the nearly a half million people who die as a consequence of tobacco usage and the over $150 billion healthcare cost we pay annually. Imagine if we can reduce that number of fatality and those expenses by helping others to love themselves and care for others, our world would be much better.

http://www.tobaccofreekids.org/press_releases/post/2015_12_16_survey

http://www.lung.org/our-initiatives/tobacco/oversight-and-regulation/statement-on-e-cigarettes.html

 

One thought on “New E-Cigarette, Is it safe?

  1. As an ex-tobacco user who has used the e-cig as a cessation device, I have a response. E-cigarettes and tobacco products are currently regulated (and viewed as the same thing) and I think that is a good thing. The last thing I want to see is my children or any other children using nicotine or tobacco. The regulation on the devices do help in that regard. However, after trying every smoking cessation device known to man, the e-cigarette is the only thing that has ever worked for me. I have been tobacco free for over three years. I did extensive research and came to a point where I build my own devices and make my own e-juice. I have full control over what goes into my body: vegetable glycerin, propylene glycol, nicotine and food flavoring. There are 178 chemicals in a cigarette and when combined create an amalgamation of thousands of different chemicals that are harmful to the consumer and those around them. Smoking tobacco is a known cancer causing agent and the other effects are horrible as well. In my ejuice, the vegetable glycerin and propylene glycol are food safe ingredients that I guarantee you and everyone else in our class are already ingesting. They are approved by the FDA. Food flavoring is also safe. Nicotine is a horrible and addictive drug but it is literally only bad for your bones. Not your lungs, not your heart, not a cancer inducer – etc. Also, from the Harvard University peer-reviewed articles that I have read, the vapor from e-cigs are not harmful to those around the user. My personal opinion is that I would rather ingest one drug that is bad for my bones that I have full control over rather than ingest a death cylinder created by a corporation who doesn’t care that they are killing you while they fleece you of your money. Is complete abstinence from both best? Of course. But for me that was not realistic. I have consistently cut down the nicotine levels in my juice and will come to a point soon where I make juice with no nicotine at all. My vaping at that point will be completely harmless. I just wish that people would smarten up a bit and regulate themselves instead of trusting any entity to do so for them. There is my alternative viewpoint on your information sparse, one-sided post.

Leave a Reply

