Racial Profiling – it still exists

I was born in Bogota, Colombia and was adopted at three months old. My birth mother gave me up in hopes that I would have a better life. My parents are Caucasian and I have a couple siblings who are Caucasian, African American and mixed. We were all raised to accept people for who they are and to treat them with respect. Now that I am older, I have learned that racial profiling still exists. I get stopped in a clothing store because one time I didn’t dress the part or like the clothes in the store. I was followed and asked to leave my bags and purse at the register; always getting questioned. When I was at St. Cloud State, I was the designated driver and I was pulled over for no reason. I signaled correctly, didn’t speed nor did I do anything else wrong, but instead I stood outside as they searched (more like destroy) our car for 20 minutes (in 20 degree weather) to end up not finding anything or ticketing anyone. I was thanked for being safe and taking care of my friends.I asked why I was pulled over and he wouldn’t answer.

So much change has happened over the years to get us to where we are today. People are allowed to marry someone of the same sex. People are allowed to date whomever and whenever no matter what the color of their skin is. People are even allowed to hang out and be friends with people of any color. I mean I could really go on for hours, but I don’t think I need to and my fingers would disagree with me. But there are still issues with accepting people based on the color of their skin. Some have these stereotypes that they refuse to let go. Some people in this world deny that racial profiling exists.

How Is There Still Racial Profiling in the ‘Post-Racial’ Age of Obama

This first link talks about how things have changed or as Keith Rushing stated, “a turning point in the nation’s struggle for racial equality.” But then it talks about a couple stories that address the issues that have happened recently which portray racial profiling. Some of these stories talk aboutΒ discriminatory policing targeting Latinos in North Carolina as well as officers being required to stop anyone in the state of Arizona if they had any “reasonable suspicion” that they are an illegal immigrant.

NAACP FILES LEGAL CHALLENGE TO ARIZONA RACIAL PROFILING LAW

This next link talks about the NAACP are going to file a class action lawsuit to challenge the new law in Arizona. And I quote, “the extreme law, the coalition charged, invites the racial profiling of people of color, violates the First Amendment and interferes with federal law.”

These two links are talk about the same issue, but they each offer something different. The first link talks about what change has been made as a turning point but highlighting the issues that are still occurring. The second link talks about what people are trying to do to fix this issue. They support in their own way. Whoever thinks that racial profiling doesn’t exist, might want to read more into these issues that are occurring at this moment.We should be aware of these issues that are going on and work for change.

Leave a Reply

