Don’t ignore.

I remember the last time I talked to her.

I remember the last words she said. “I love you more.”

198782_1454661782090_316427_n

We ate dinner, then watched a movie and went to bed. Never thought things would change for me after I closed my eyes. My bedroom was above the front door. I woke up because I thought I heard knocking. I figured it was part of my dream so I went right back to sleep. Just a few minutes later, I saw a light on in the hallway. I walked downstairs to find my brother sitting on the edge of his bed with his head down. I asked what was wrong, but he insisted that I talk to mom and dad. I walk into our dining room to see my parents, a police officer and another man standing around the table.

Finally the left and I asked what was going on?

My mom held me so tight and in a quiet voice, she said, “they found your sister dead in her apartment.”

I then asked, “How? What happen?”

She then said, “She overdosed on pills.”198623_1454661142074_8054732_n

I knew my sister was battling depression, but I never thought she would take her own life. I had just talked to her eight hours before and I thought she was just fine.

 

As I have grown up, I have learned the important of seeing the signs of depression and suicide. So many people say that those who commit suicide are just selfish especially for leaving their loved ones behind. I have also learned that mental illness is not selfishness. “Suicide is a desperate act by someone who is in intense pain and wants their pain to stop. That is a HUMAN response to extreme pain, not a selfish one. And over 90 percent of the people who die by suicide have a mental illness at the time of their death, so they are not thinking clearly (Suicide.org).”

We should be more aware aware of signs of depression. We should also give support to those who may be struggling whether they are family, friends, colleagues and more. We may never know that they are having a tough time in their life. It could be job issues, health issues and so much more. It is important to show your support and that you care.

Read about my story on my blog post. | For more information go to suicideispreventable.org #icare

A post shared by Chalmers (@mluciac33) on

 

For more information, go to Suicide.org.
Please learn the signs of suicide at Suicide Is Preventable.
#icare

 

5 thoughts on “Don’t ignore.

  1. Great subject and issue to discuss. I appreciate how you shared your own close encounter with a love one who suffered from it. It is definitely a topic that, I hope more people are willing to talk about without feeling shame. Good links.

  2. I remember my brother-in-law Dan. Dan had very similar circumstances. My wife has taken to running in the past year as personal therapy for the loss of her brother.
    Dan used to go for late runs that were fit only for a marathon runner but he didn’t run marathons. Dan used running as a form of therapy. Dan used to work catering parties all around town into the late-night hours and be forced into walking home after work even on nights he didn’t want to. Even in winter Dan would walk. Dan would walk until every inch of his feet were blistered and raw because he didn’t have a car and thought he’d be a nuisance by asking for a ride.
    Depression is something that gets noticed when it is too late. If you suspect that someone you know is taking pills, or drinking alcohol all the time or always on drugs, that is the stage where a friendly conversation may go a long way for that person for that day or maybe longer. Sometimes people just need someone to talk to even if you just respond by winking and nodding.
    My Mother-in-law is involved in Compassionate Friends and they are a good community of people dealing with loss of people close in their lives.

    http://www.compassionatefriends.org/Find_Support/Chapters/Chapter_Locator.aspx

    1. Wow, Todd thanks for sharing. Absolutely understand what you’re saying on not wanting to ruin something by a suspicion, but offering to talk and yeah, a simple nod. Something! Thanks for sharing that link! My friend created this app called Reach. It is a place you can share your problems with the world.

  3. Great post! My brother started his struggle with depression when he was 9. I think people forget that depression doesn’t really end. It is a sleeping dragon that can wake up at any time. It is so important to know these signs even if we think the person is better. He’s 24 now and I see those signs of depression come back if he goes through a break up or job loss and people say “oh that’s normal”. Everything is so much more intense for him, we have to remember to be aware of those signs always. He speaks out on his depression now and teaches others how they can help themselves. Pretty cool kid if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

