If someone needs CPR, could you help?

I was sitting in the bedroom, writing a letter to a family friend that just had a baby; then I heard him coughing. I listened and continued to write, but it didn’t stop. I jumped up and ran into the living room. He was choking, I started to slap him on the back. He starting to panic, he dropped to his knees; he passed out. I panicked, I picked him up and moved him, started to push on his chest making sure I was doing something. I began looking in his mouth; I could see it. I attempted to pull at what I could see and grabbed it, the next thing I knew he woke up.

It was the scariest thing, it could have been much worse; we were very lucky. After this incident I knew two things: one, my husbands parents who passed away nine years ago were definitely look out for us on that day and two, I was glad for Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). I have been CPR certified for many years and have taken many refresher courses. I have two small kids, and took baby CPR classes. This was four years ago, and it still gives me chills; how it could have gone.

images-2

I have been reading about South Carolina and Michigan, starting to focus on students graduating with skills to be a citizen in the community. Making sure that the next generation understands that stepping in and helping is important too…

“…Gov. Nikki Haley signed a bill into law on Thursday, April 21, that requires all South Carolina students to learn cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), according to a news release from the American Heart Association. The bill requires that students learn hands-on CPR as part of the high school health education curriculum.” Columbia, S.C. (WPDE)

I think this is a wonderful idea, because we often think that nothing like this will ever happen to us, when in fact it happens all to often. I hope that other states see the benefit of making CPR a requirement for graduation. There should be more requirements that focus on living within a community, learning to be a positive active member of that community.

Possibly, businesses will see that graduates have these skills and that they should adopt these requirements as well, requiring employees to have annual CPR training.

What do you think? Have you ever used CPR? Would you want your work to train you in CPR?

 

Leave a Reply

