What about Class

20160430_121337I’ve got to say something about the class discussions. There has been a pattern of several individuals (who will not be named) who take over the discussion completely. I really don’t understand how no one sees the problematic nature of the current class discussion model. I’ve given up on trying to add to a class discussion because it really only rewards people who talk most of the time (such as those who will not be named). Right now there are a handful of people who talk for the vast majority of the time and that can be really discouraging if you want to add anything substantial to the conversation. This would be fine if the people who were picked to talk or add to a discussion were picked based on how little or how much they’ve contributed to the class discussion. Instead people are picked based on when they raise their hands. This model favors those who continually raise their hands or talk for long periods of time and punishes out those who have a short comment to make or those who do not speak up as much.

20160430_121020

I have found myself putting down my hand because an individual was speaking for more than 15 minutes. In this way the class only hears the ideas and opinions of a few individuals. This seems like such a waste since the diversity in Metropolitan State University is one of the schools strong points. But when you let a few individuals monopolize that aspect of the class you are not utilizing that strength. Not to mention that white males and males in general tend to be more out spoken, so what you’re really getting in that monopolized model is a perspective of white male privilege. I don’t know about anyone else, but I’ve heard enough —let someone else speak for a change.

3 thoughts on “What about Class

  1. I am sorry David.
    I think that it is obvious that I am included in this group, if not at the top of the list.

    My intention was not to monopolize and I would have been understanding if I had not been selected or had someone else taken on discussion.

    I have a variety of thoughts on this… But, I guess that doesn’t matter.

    What do others think? (Open Platform. No Monopoly.)

  2. It may seem like that most of the time. Honestly, it’s really just the opinion of people. I clearly have a tendency to be bias but I try to look at every argument objectively. It is so easy to fall into these logical fallacies that I find it quite funny. Most of the time, I make light of a situation that has been too intense or stale but that is just me. I think that everyone has a voice and that talking about it no matter how right or wrong says a lot about one’s character. We all have a different set of values and beliefs but by sticking by them, we can say that we gave our two cents.

  3. I understand what you’re saying, but I do also believe that this classroom was always open to hearing what others had to say. If you have something to say, speak up, even if someone else is talking for 15 minutes. Raise your hand or say something. People who engage in conversation should not be penalized as well. Mr. Carlson never asked for those specific people to talk only. He always asked if anyone had anything else to say? He left it open for us all. I use to wonder why only a few were doing the most talking, but I didn’t let that discourage me. I try to take it all in a positive light and for myself I learn better by listening, learned a lot from everyone and if I had something to say, I would raise my hand and not put it down. Even if they said the same thing. I sympathize, but I just hope you can try to think of this in a better, positive light. If I do remember correctly, you did speak at times and don’t be afraid to continue 🙂

Leave a Reply

