Extraversion + Intuition + Thinking + Judging

Yep, I am an ENTJ.

 

Some of you might have already pegged me as such, but who cares about my personality type anyway? Whether you realize it or not, you all do.

Isabel Briggs Myers, co-creator of the Myers–Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI), says, “When people differ, a knowledge of type lessens friction and eases strain. In addition, it reveals the value of differences. No one has to be good at everything.” Knowing your type and those you work with will help you better understand each other and work better together.

Knowing your type will also help you better understand your natural strengths and weaknesses and can help you choose a career that is more satisfying. According to training and coaching professional Barry Smith, everyone does best when they are working with their innate strengths.  Working in our strengths also gives us energy and enjoyment. Working in our weaknesses drains us of energy and typically causes frustration.

Do you know your personality type? If you don’t, for $49.95 (plus tax is applicable) you can take the MBTI assessment online. Broke college student and don’t want to pay for it? I get it! I scoured the internet searching for a free alternative, you know, one that didn’t tell me what 80s movie or Disney Princess I was. As you can image, that took a while. However, true to my ENTJ type, I didn’t give up and ultimately found a free personality test that gave me the same results as the MBTI.

If you already know your type, let’s get to know one another better, post it in the comments. For those of you who don’t know your type take one of the assessments and then share your results. Looking forward to seeing all of your personality types!

12 thoughts on “Extraversion + Intuition + Thinking + Judging

  1. I test as INFJ which one site said I like working behind the scenes and my 4% group is most loyal. ENTJ the site said were life’s natural leaders and your group is the most commanding. 🙂 Great post!

  2. @clashinski, I’m an INFJ too!

    Also, Christina, this is a great post. Myers-Briggs is a nice tool. It’s a good way to get to know yourself a little bit better. Your post reminded me of StrengthsFinder, which is another assessment that essentially gives you a fingerprint of your brain (rather than a personality assessment, like Myers-Briggs). You are right, trying to do a job that we don’t thrive in is extremely draining. It’s important to know your strengths and work on magnifying them. There really is no such thing as a well-rounded person, BUT you can have strong people that create well-rounded teams.

    1. I’ve done StrenghFinders also. Another great one for application at work is DiSC. And you can find a pretty good test for free on line. All of these tools lead us to better understanding of one another and an ability to play to our strong suits and for those areas where we are weaker rely on the talents of others to add to our toolboxes. I started out with Myers Briggs in 1988 with a book Called Please Understand Me and I still have it and reference it today. Loved it so much I got licensed to teach MBTI. Great post!

    2. Thanks for the comment! Having a team comprised of different personality types has its advantages. When doing group work I am always reminded that “it takes a village”. Everyone brings unique skills and characteristics to the table. If we were all the same, the world would be awfully boring!

  3. I am an ENFP – when reading my personality type (about 5 years ago) it really wasn’t a surprise. Extrovert, Intuitive, Feeling Perceving. What does this really mean? It means I am an Inspirer! I LOVE cheering people on, helping people reach goals, encouraging those that have lost hope, serving others, meeting new people and hearing their stories and really feeling the emotions of others. I love helping others achieve their goals, but what are MY goals. I didn’t put everything together until I turned 40. Why not use the skill that are a part of my make up in a job that I can be passionate about AND get paid for?? This is when the eyes were opened and I found Career Counselling and Development staring right back at me. Now, I’m in school working toward that goal and I see the light at the end of the tunnel shining brightly at me! Thank you for sharing your post and for allowing us to introduce who we are to the rest of the class.

    1. Kerri you are totally playing to your strengths! And I can attest to your encouraging nature as you pretty much convinced me I needed to double or triple major.

    2. That is great! The light is only getting brighter!!

      I am a business process analyst and am often assigned to process improvement initiatives. Having a job that fits into your personality type is certainly a benefit. I had to take the MBTI as part of a class at work and I was surprised to see how the second sentence of my personality type mimicked my job description.

  4. Get out! I’m an ENTJ, too! Did you know that we comprise 2% of the population? Yup, we’re part of a fairly exclusive club. What have you found to be some of the biggest obstacles to overcome in interacting with people based on your personality type? When you were reading through the description of ENTJ, did you find that it was completely nailed you? I certainly did.

    Thanks for sharing!

    1. Hey Sam just wondering if you find yourself being able to adapt to other roles when necessary I know a lot of ENTJs who have to flux into INTJs or ENFJs and find it difficult. I’d love to hear both your thoughts and those of the post author.

    2. Thanks for the comment. I think the biggest obstacle is the last sentence in the photo, “Forceful in presenting their ideas.” I can sometime come across a little rough but that is never my intention. As far as the rest of the description goes, it’s pretty spot on. Heck it’s practically my job description as a business process analyst!

Leave a Reply

