Tiny House Movement

o-TINY-HOUSE-GIANT-JOURNEY-facebook

In the past couple of years, tiny living has become very popular. Many people are downsizing their homes and “stuff” they have. The goal of downsizing is to live simpler, travel the world, to be financially free, and to be Eco-friendly for some. They call it the Tiny House Movement. Call me crazy, but I kind of want to live in a tiny house as well. The idea of being mortgage free, traveling the world and living the simple lifestyle away from all of the noise is very attractive to me. I’ve lived in the cities my entire life and the extent of my traveling experiences is slim to none. There’s got to be more than Minneapolis! Some people are even taking vans, demolishing them and renovating them to travel the U.S.! Some people have trucks and tow their campers with them. It seems like the life for me at this point in time. I fantasize about having the ability to get up and leave to another place for another one of a kind adventure whenever I please.

This life is just too busy for me. People outside of the U.S. are amazed at how much we Americans work, work and work some more. The more money we make, the more debt we accrue. We work, spend, work and spend some more. We rack up huge mortgages and we can’t afford, we buy cars we shouldn’t and we have tons of “stuff” in our attics, basements, garages and even in our living spaces. It is my desire to get past all of that “stuff” and find what I really need and want.

My husband and I haven’t decided if it’s really right for us yet. There are some things to think about before making a drastic change like that. Safety is a huge concern for me if we’re going to be on the road, having a job of some sort on the road sort is difficult to fathom, finding land to rent and put our tiny home on (since tiny homes are not legalized everywhere yet), and where we will live once we decide it’s time to settle down and have kids. Would it be wiser to buy a cheap home we can afford to renovate, rent it out, travel the world in a tiny home for 2-3 years, and then have a home to come back to? It’s something to think about, but first things first: finish my degree.

Do you think you could downsize everything you have down to only what you need?

Check out this blog on a couple who renovated their van to travel the United States @ http://ourvie.com/

Check out this link to see some sample tiny homes. It’s crazy how creative tiny house builders are with how to utilize every single inch of space they have to work with! http://www.tumbleweedhouses.com/

Read this article about a couple who quit their jobs and bought a tiny house @ http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/02/25/tiny-house-giant-journey-photos_n_6746974.html

 

10 thoughts on “Tiny House Movement

  1. I have a friend who thought about moving far away and getting his own tiny house. I asked asked myself the question the question that you posed of if i could downsize everything I have to only what you need. To that, I think I could but it would take some time to get used to that is for sure! I could see myself living in a tiny house someday, who knows!
    .

    1. Hi Dominic,

      I agree that it would take some getting used to. I like to think about it this way though; you might find that you have more space than ever because you are no longer confined in a big house. The idea is that you only take what you need. What we need is shelter and food. A tiny home is simply for the purpose of shelter. We are meant to be outside, explore, go on adventures, and more.

  2. This phenomenon is intriguing to me as well. We moved to the cities from Granite Falls 3 1/2 years ago to move in with my mother-in-law after the passing of my father-in-law. In Granite, we had a 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom home with a 3 car garage and PLENTY of storage space. We moved to Roseville in a make-shift 3 bedroom home, with 2 bathrooms and no space for our items. My mother-in-law’s house was fully furnished when we moved in…so what do we do with our STUFF. We gave, sold, dumped and donated most of our belongings. It was tough at first, but freeing to say the least. We did have a storage unit for some items we were not willing to part with. Now we live in a 2 bedroom townhouse with NO storage space and after going thru our storage unit, realized we had more to rid ourselves of! We are still in the process of weeding out the “wants” and redefining our “needs”. Great post!

    1. Hi Keri!

      Thanks for stopping by! What struck out to me most from your comment was that it was freeing for you to let go of all of that “stuff”. I think that might be what attracts me so much to it. Having all of this “stuff” is exhausting. The upkeep, maintenance, storage, moving and more is stressful in a way that I can’t describe. I just want to be free of that responsibility. I think it’s great that you literally have to downsize because there is that little of space. Have fun with garage sales this summer Keri!

  3. I am also fascinated by tiny houses, but then everything tiny seems so dang cute. But could I downsize? My office alone has more junk in it than would fit in a tiny house. I think the idea sounds a lot cooler than the reality of tight quarters. I want them to make the six months after moving into a tiny house TV show.

    1. Hi Christine!

      Great point. I’m sure people freak out and decide they can no longer do tiny homes while others love it! The idea though, is that you wouldn’t have a full time 8-4 job anymore. You wouldn’t have many bills because your biggest bill (mortgage) will be gone now. You are free to simply work part time. You may not need all of the things you have in your office anymore!

  4. Yer another really interesting post. I too am fascinated by the tiny house movement. I can honestly say I’m pushing 40 and have never owned a home mostly because I didn’t want to be tied to it. I love the idea of the tiny home going where you want it to. But I worry about all the memory stuff – the I can’t part with that even though I have not looked at it in 20 years stuff – just being gone. One program suggested keeping digital photos of the stuff that you give away, sell, repurpose etc. to help keep the emotional attachment. I was shocked at how much stuff my parents just dumped when they moved to FL. I guess it’s a question of what you are willing to part with to gain something else. My real stop gap today is the dogs. Not sure Tiny House Living is for Aussies as they need room to run when I’m doing crazy long days. I would tend to agree with Christine – I want to see these Tiny Home Folks a year after and see where they are and if they have had to get storage units etc.

    1. I worry about letting “stuff” go too. I think that’s the hardest part for some people but I also think that’s the most freeing part about the entire thing. I also would like to see folks a year into tiny living, but then again I don’t think we’d see storage units just because that really defeats the whole purpose. Instead of storage units, people may just go back to buying a “normal” size home. I can also understand the Aussie situation. It’s best to have a small pet in a tiny house situation.

Leave a Reply

