You Can’t Do Anything with a Communications Degree!

communications-degree-still

I still give myself a hard time for majoring in Communications because it’s a degree that is frowned upon by many. I often hear people say things such as, “what are you going to do with a Communications degree?” or “It’s a useless degree to have”. To an extent, I agree with those statements. It was even once listed as, “Top Ten Worst Majors”, on Forbes and might still be listed as so. A Communications degree is fairly general and broad, most of us don’t know what to do with it after graduation, it may not pay us as well as other specific majors such as nursing and computer technology, and it certainly doesn’t guarantee us job security upon graduation. Why are we majoring in it then? What’s so great about it?

It took me awhile to figure out that I should pursue what makes me happy. I think that everything else that I desire will fall into place if I follow that path. On September 6th of 2015, I married my best friend. Our wedding plans were in full force and part of that plan was to find an officiator. We met with several, but we fell in love with just one. Her name was Liz. Her story captivated and enticed me. She graduated from college with a degree in journalism. Sound familiar? It’s a degree, like Communications, that is just as doubtful.

I would have never imagined that someone who majored in journalism could have such a thriving business as a marriage officiator, but Liz has proved me wrong. Liz was inspired to become an officiator for her friends’ wedding when she noticed the high ministry costs for people in the LGBTA community. Since then, she has been booked back to back on weekends and has been running a successful business as a wedding officiator. Liz is able to do what she loves, which is write and make a business out of it by officiating weddings. I think that’s amazing.

It goes to show that you can do something with a degree as general as Communications. You may not see it yet, but if you follow what you love to do; you might just end up with a successful business like Liz. What are you guys going to do with a Communications degree?

Check out her website @ http://www.lizrae.com/

Check out the Martha Stewart Weddings for those who just love all things wedding like me @ http://www.marthastewartweddings.com/

Check out Elite Daily where Liz spent some time writing @ http://elitedaily.com/

 

7 thoughts on “You Can’t Do Anything with a Communications Degree!

  1. Great blog post! I hear this a lot, too, though I normally try to highlight the “professional” part before “communication.” 🙂 I don’t really have a plan for what I’m going to do after school, but I’ve become increasingly interested in doing social media as a profession. I chose the Org Comm major because it’s so broad and you can do just about anything with it (when I say “anything,” I’m not referring to being a doctor or an engineer, but I’m not remotely interested in that anyway). It gives you a lot of options and that’s why it was an easy choice for me.

    1. Hi Alayna,

      I am somewhat in the same boat. I think Org Comm is what’s best for me now otherwise I’d never graduate from college! I simply keep changing my mind!

  2. Great post. When I decided on my major of Organizational Communication it was because the degree fits with my skill set. In the orientation I along with two other students had brought print outs that we pulled out when the instructor began speaking. “Let me guess,” she said, “Organizational Communication majors?” Yep. What will I do with my degree? I have no idea, but I’m open to suggestions.

    1. Hi Christine,

      I hope I can find some inspiration the way Liz did in her career. Hopefully, that will lead me somewhere. Good luck to you after graduation!

  3. Yer great post. So I have to say having been in a professional environment for nearly 30 years now and having interviewed literally hundreds of people for jobs I have to say I NEVER EVER look at what someone majored in and rarely look at the school unless I’m looking at weighing in on a “prestige” position. And frankly of late I know my organization and my dream organization are more interested in if you are able to communicate with others. So good on ya Mate!

Leave a Reply

