A different take on social media/cell phone use

I often think about social media as a mean to express yourself through opinions, facts, and ext. But I also think about if social media did not exist. What would our businesses and world look like without this platform to help? Could people actually go an hour without pulling out there phone to check there snapchat story or twitter feed? The answer is probably not.

As I am out in public, I try to observe how many people are on there phones. As of lately, it has been ridiculous at the amount of people on their phones. For example, I was at a coffee shop and noticed a group of friends sitting at the table next to me. Normally when you go to a coffee shop with friends, you are there to drink coffee and have conversations. All four of the friends were on there phones literally the whole time, barely talking to each other. It is as if once you are on your device, you are in a different world where nothing around you matters. It is as scary thought if you ask me.

It worries me that my generation has grown up with all this technology and social media because we can’t forget about the life around us. Having conversations with people, getting outside, enjoying life without always having a tablet or mobile device on you, are aspects that are slowly going extinct. I hope that as my generation gets older, we do not get caught up too much in the technology craze.

https://i2.wp.com/img.deseretnews.com/images/article/midres2/695262342/695262342.jpg

 

 

-Dominic

 

4 thoughts on “A different take on social media/cell phone use

  1. This is a GREAT topic of conversation. That is, if we are off of our phones long enough to HAVE this conversation! I agree with you, it is a little sad to see our youth texting each other even though they are right next to each other. I see it in my nephews, my friends kids and even at church. I have a seven year old son that I hope to hold off of social media as long as I possibly can without totally “wrecking his social life.” He already asks me daily for a cellphone. I tell him that when he masters the art of thoughtful conversation, manners and social etiquette, I’ll consider it.

  2. Hi Dominic,

    I think it’s hilarious that you said people can’t go an hour without looking at their social media accounts. It reminds me of my husband. He is always on his phone doing something.

    It is a scary thing that we are all almost always on an electronic. I actually noticed that all the students in the classroom were on their cell phones during break the other day.

    Some of us even feel socially awkward without our electronics. It has become a security blanket and comforting for us to have an electronic with us.

    I, too, hope that the technology craze will slow. I hope people will take the time to just be.

  3. It’s funny, looking at the picture you used. I think I had two or three of those cell phones when I was younger!

    You bring up a good point; I’ve also thought what it might be like to not have technology. On the flip side, technology has brought us a lot of good development (scientifically, socially, educationally), a way to reach out to others and talk about issues, a way to keep in touch with friends and family who are long distance… People have had things like technology (letters, home phones, telegrams, TV) for a long time, they just didn’t have instant access like we do now!

    I think technology is great, but I agree that our generation uses it too much. It’s absolutely an addiction, and I think we’re losing the ability to talk face to face in all situations. There have been many times that something said over text message would have been better said in person … but text is so quick and informal, I think people like that.

    I’m not sure what we can do to change this. Maybe our society is just evolving? I, for one, have friends and family that I talk to via social media often (some live in different states, some different countries). Giving up social media would mean giving up those relationships and only having them when I can save up enough money to buy that plane ticket. Facebook and text, in this regard, is nice because I can get daily or weekly updates from my friends and family and still feel “connected” to them even though they’re far away.

    This is definitely a good conversation to have! I think we should continue to talk to each other … and our future kids … about this issue. Even the *ahem* awareness is important.

  4. Dominic great conversation starter here! So I’m on the other end of the spectrum I grew up with 4 channels of TV a phone in the hallway of our home and no personal computer till I was well into my first round of college. Guess what – MANY generations before your survived without the constant demand to be online and up to date and sharing everything with the world. I suspect its a balance issue and the pendulum has swung too far one way and eventually will come to a center position. I think the technology is great for connecting the world but I guess I just don’t see the need to be connected every minute of every day. Really thought provoking post. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

