The Unsavvy Millennial’s Awakening to Social Media

The Beginner's Guide to Social Media

I’ll admit it. I’m no genius when it comes to social media.

I often scroll through my various feeds in envy as I see my family and friends posting, liking, tweeting, snapping, or whatever happens to be in vogue in the present. I don’t know if it’s just that my life is monotonous or if I have a heightened sense of privacy, but I just can’t seem to keep up with the various forms of social media at my disposal. Adding to my anxiety around this subject is the societal assumption that all Millennials must inherently be gifted when it comes to this subject. I can wholeheartedly assure you that this is a fallacy. I am constantly consulting Google with the litany of questions that come from the Baby Boomers around me. I simply want to scream—“I don’t know.”

Imagine my relief when I discovered that MDST 485 was a required class for my major. In the short time that we have been enrolled in this class, I have been awaken to some of the possibilities that come along with having a firm grasp of social media. In particular, the ability that social media has to enact social change. My inner-activist has been overwhelmed with the possibilities that are at my fingertips. Now, I’m no dummy, I realize I have quite the learning curve to overcome, however, the prospect of being social-media-competent excites me!

In my haste to discover as much as I could about the subject, I turned to a trusted friend—Google! In light of the fact that we are all on this journey together, I have chosen to share my findings with all of you in my first post! Take a look at https://moz.com/beginners-guide-to-social-media! Think of it as a guide to social media for dummies (like me)! Some of the important highlights of the site are:

  • The value of social media
  • Best practices
  • A breakdown of several popular social media sites (Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc).
  • The vast possibilities that social media offers

I have a feeling that I am not the only one who feels as though they don’t live up to the Millennial promise. If that’s you, please take a look; I think the article does a nice job of streamlining the subject. If this post doesn’t resonate with you because you’re a social media genius, please share some tips with the rest of us lowly beings!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Unsavvy Millennial’s Awakening to Social Media

  1. Being a Gen X-er and NOT tech savvy, I tend to feel like I’m playing catch-up to the rest of the world to stay in tune with trends and technology. I’m not going to give up trying, but at times I’m tired and lack-luster in my attempts to stay relevant. I find I’m completely out of the loop when it comes to texting acronyms! LOL, SMH, WTF and the likes!! WHAT? I often text my niece to get the 411. 🙂 Thank you for being transparent as it makes the generation before you feel a little better to know we aren’t the only ones trying to stay “with it”!

    1. If there is one thing I do know about social media/technology, it’s a journey. I think everyone, regardless of age, needs to make a conscience and steady effort to stay abreast of the latest trends. Hang in there and keep learning!

  2. Great post Sam. I think there are more folks who are tech wary than savy. I am constantly overwhelmed by the amount of time it all takes. I know, I know Scott says do an hour but honestly even that doesn’t cut it while you are getting up to speed. It’s refreshing to hear from a Millennial that at least one of you struggles with it too!

Leave a Reply

