How Much Did You Spend on Your Wedding?

Did you know that the average wedding costs about $31,000 today? According a Huffington Post article, http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2015/03/13/average-cost-of-wedding-2014_n_6864860.html, the 31 grand you just spent doesn’t even include your honeymoon. Recent trends have shown that the guest list has gone down, but the price tag has not. Couples are splurging now, more than ever, on their guests’ experiences. 46% of couples tend to go over their wedding budget and 23% don’t even have a budget at all.

Those numbers and statistics are nuts to me.

I recently got married in September of 2015 and one of the first places I turned to was the internet. Most of you recent or soon-to-be brides know that, The Knot is one of the main websites that pop up when your Google search has anything to do with weddings. The Knot has everything from wedding planning, checklists, venues, caterers, photographers, wedding gowns, decoration and more. It is the go to place, if you have unlimited money.

Find The Knot here: https://www.theknot.com/

As you can imagine, I was overwhelmed as a new bride. I, not only had to have an American wedding, but I also had to have a cultural Hmong wedding as well. I had to plan two weddings with a budget that I was not willing to budge on.

I believe it is one of the most important days of a couple’s life, but I also believe they should be able to live after that day is over. Before realizing I needed to live after my wedding day, I splurged on the idea of a rustic wedding.

Mayowood Stone Barn was my dream wedding venue. It had the vintage charm that I so desperately desired! Mayowood Stone Barn can be found at http://www.mayowoodstonebarn.com/. The only problem was that it was booked 2 years out and it costs about 4 grand to simply rent the venue. It became clear to me that the vintage themed weddings were very in style and most venues sharing that same theme would be similarly priced. As a result, my barn wedding venue was crossed off the list.

I think that brides and couples get carried away, especially when you include the pressure of peers and family in the mix. Everyone dreams of an extravagant wedding, but most of us do not have the finances for it. We rely on our parents, savings, overtime hours and even loans for some couples to pay for their dream wedding.

The wedding industry is glamorized to the point of putting couples in financial stress. Weddings have become less about the couple and more about the décor. I believe what people in the wedding industry leave out includes the stress of having such an expensive wedding, how the financial stress could impact your relationship with your spouse, where you plan to live and anything practical for that matter.

My belief is simple – part of that 31 grand could be spent on something else that is just as important as your wedding day. 31 grand is a lot and that’s a year’s salary for some people. That could’ve been spent on a down payment for your first home together, starting a business or for a reliable car. Depending on how much you put down, you could possibly get multiple cars! It could also be spent on a honeymoon. Many couples spend so much money on their wedding that they decide to take their honeymoons later on in the year. How do you spend 31 grand on a day, but have no money for a honeymoon?

Your wedding day should be amazing, but so should your life.

8 thoughts on “How Much Did You Spend on Your Wedding?

  1. Great blog. I know for me I combated a lot of family pressure as they had expectations about our wedding and still I spent more than I would have liked. It’s a great lesson for me now as a parent to remember that this is their day.

    1. I would have to agree that the price for weddings and all the events leading up to it are pretty outrageous. You are right in which the 31 grand could be spent on a lot of important things more important than something on your wedding day! I am not saying that weddings should be free, but they should not be 31 grand.

  2. I love this blog! As someone who is anticipating a wedding in the near future, the cost is definitely something that scares me a lot. Depending on the type of family you come from, I think there is a lot of pressure from parents to do your wedding a certain way. To me, I would much rather do a cheaper (but still nice!) wedding, spend a little more on the honeymoon, and then have some left over to begin a life with! I love what you said: “Your wedding should be amazing, but so should your life.” We’ll see how much say I really have when the time comes…

    1. The cost of a wedding is a real thing and it’s scary. At the end of the day, I would suggest doing what’s best for you and your soon-to-be husband.

  3. I am flabberghasted Yer. That amount is unbelievable for a single day in a life. The industry is clearly making money or it couldn’t sustain that kind of cost. Thanks for sharing.

      1. I remember paying for mine – keep in mind this was the early 90s an I spent $13K and was married less than a year. FREAKS me out to think about it now. Oh how I would have done it differently and not what everyone else wanted looking back now.

Leave a Reply

