Genetically Engineered Foods (GMO’s)

 

Should genetically engineered foods be labeled? I believe they should. If we are what we eat, then we should have the right to know and the ability to choose what we are eating. In the Communicating with New Media class, we are learning about capitalism and the attitude some companies have about earning money now without careful analysis over the future of possible problems. How much do you trust your health or the health of your children to the food companies that are out to make a profit now?

I worry about cancers like colon cancer and how much if any of that is related to the processed foods that we are eating? My girlfriend had colon cancer at 40. My father-in-law died from it, as had many people. I don’t want to experiment with my family’s health and by the time we find out there is a problem it is often too late.

As the Huffington Post article, The High Tech Hijacking of GMO Food Labeling, states we should have the right to know about the food we are purchasing and eating. And then we can make the choice. The article says that more than 90 percent of American’s are for labeling our food to show if it has been genetically engineered.

In the website Common Dreams, they announced that Campbell soups are now support labeling their products. The Campbell Company states that GMO’s are safe, although some disagree, I applaud their transparency, because that is what I want, the ability to choose for myself. It is up to all of us to research and decide for ourselves what we bring into our homes and feed our families.

A place that I found to be a great start to my research was the site Just Label It. There is a page on their website that discusses the DARK Act, an anti-GMO labeling bill that passed the House of Representatives in 2015. Also, are you eating livestock that has been raised on genetically modified grains? They talk about the rise of superweeds in fields with modified crops that are resistant to herbicides. Their website has a bright yellow take action button about sharing how you feel on labeling GMO’s in our food, by voicing your opinion to the FDA, Congress, and big food companies.

I believe our food should be labeled. Do you?

About Christine Lashinski

Hello, Although I love to travel, my home has always remained in northern Minnesota where I grew up. I love the trees, the water and the seasons. Mosquitoes? Not so much. My parents encouraged reading (they don’t remember doing so, but it’s a pretty major addiction. Someone must be responsible). I’ve read to my husband on road trips (is there anything better than a captive audience?). I've been accused of ruining movies by dissecting them for plot elements. All I can say is its true, and I’m sorry. Christine Lashinski

5 thoughts on “Genetically Engineered Foods (GMO’s)

  1. Hi Christine!

    I think you bring up an interesting topic. I actually would have to disagree with you. I don’t think that GMOs need to be labeled simply because I think almost everything at the grocery store would be labeled “GMO” then. I believe almost everything we eat is a GMO product of some sort and honestly, even if it is labeled GMO; I think most of us still have to eat it because we can’t afford organic. I know the Whole Foods Supermarket and Trader Joes has healthier, fresh and whole foods. However, I still shop at Cub and Rainbow and I still don’t buy organic because it’s just too expensive for me right now. Just eating vegetables, greens, whole fruit, whole wheat, and fresh foods is the best that a lot of us can do.

  2. You make a great point. I looked into this a little deeper in the National Geographic article https://mdst485class.wordpress.com/wp-admin/comment.php?action=editcomment&c=1534. They state, as you suggested, that we in the United States have been eating genetically engineered food since the 1990’s with more than 60% of processed food containing GMO ingredients.
    So although, there might be a big percentage of the food labeled, I still believe it is a good idea. Although currently, there may be few affordable choices without GMO how will people influence the market by choosing non GMO if they do not know what those products are?
    Also even if we have to eat it as you are no doubt correct, by knowing which products are being GMO altered we can do our research to be sure they are being extensively tested to be sure they are safe.

  3. So honestly I think we do need to label better but I also think that Yer is dead on in that for most folks labels won’t change what we buy. Cost will. There are some items I insist on being organic but then I also have moments of craving the Hostess SnowBalls and Lord knows there is NO real food in those. I suspect as food costs go up that the economic divide will be a good predictor of who purchases and subsequently cares about what as far as GMO labeling vs organic goes. Chalk another one up to the all mighty dollar.

  4. You cracked me up with the Hostess SnowBalls. Guilty as well. You make a great point about the choice coming down to economics. You buy what you can afford. For me, part of the labeling has to do with being able to track when problems arise.

    I’m a DES daughter, one of the last. http://www.cdc.gov/des/consumers/daughters/index.html The government site even says the information is now out of date, because the people exposed are dying so no need for further research. The medication was given to pregnant mothers and it had some not so nice consequences on the baby daughters especially. So if my mom had not been informed she had taken this medication then all of the research of the health problems I would likely (and did) encounter would have been lost to me. So that is another important reason for the food labeling when things go wrong we want to be sure to be able to track them to their source.

Leave a Reply

