Raising the age to sell cigarettes?

Hey kid are you old enough to smoke?!

A post shared by Mark Rangen (@super.important) on

On June 9th the smoking age in California is being raised to 21. This change has been seen as a positive by most people. According to tobaccocounter.org, 3 out of 4 adults would be in favor of changing the age to 21 and 7 out of 10 smokers are in favor of the minimum age of sale being changed too. However, a recent article in The Los Angeles Times argues that it would be a pointless change and that it will still allow kids to get cigarettes. He argued that high profile stings of tobacco stores catering to children had no effect on the child’s ability to get cigarettes.

Looks enjoyable.

A post shared by Mark Rangen (@super.important) on

I am personally in the group of thought that the law should stay. When I was a kid and tried cigarettes for the first time it was because a senior who was 18 had a pack and offered them to me. While I think that people still can get a hold of cigarettes via parents, siblings, or otherwise, I think that by adding to the age of purchase it will make it less accessible to a lot of people. Researchers are predicting a 9 to 22 percent decline in smokers ages 15-17. Most people start smoking when they’re in middle school or high school.

 

5 thoughts on “Raising the age to sell cigarettes?

  1. I am in favor for raising the age to purchase cigarrettes. Although, I don’t think it would be a major deal if the age stayed. If anything, I do not want to see the age go down because then younger kids under that new age would start smoking cigs. Many people probably get hooked right as they become legal age to smoke. Although many will start way before there legal age. It is just more convenient for people to start getting hooked when they can buy them themselves.

    -Dominic

    1. I couldn’t agree more. I feel like moving it forward even though it wouldn’t bring a colossal change it wouldn’t hurt. The youth smoking is something a high majority of people would say is a negative. I’m sure more states than just California will adopt this policy in the future.

  2. Hey Mark,

    I wonder why the decline in smokers ages 15-17 years?

    If most people start smoking when they’re in middle school; it makes me wonder how effective it would be to increase the smoking age limit. These middle school kids are getting cigarettes somehow because we know they aren’t buying it themselves. However, I have to agree that raising the age limit couldn’t hurt. But there has to be another way. I wonder if the purpose of raising that age requirement is so that kids are less inclined to smoke. If their goal is to prevent kids from smoking, I think they better do more research on effective ways to prevent it. I know they tried increasing prices and even that didn’t work.

    Yer

  3. Does changing the age limit make smoking more appealing to middle schoolers? Does it seem like a cool more adult thing to do to a group that is just starting to experience the initial on set of puberity? Does the advent of eCigs make it even more appealing? I want to see the age raised to limit sales as today many avoid the ID requirement regardless. That said I feel strongly we need to show the effect of long term smoking – scare the heck out of them the way the Aides crisis did in the late 80s. As this can and does affect the rest of their lives. Its a legal drug that they will wish they’d never have touched but you can’t say that to kids of that age. So bring on the old school scare tatics.

    1. I feel like scare tactics have always been there for my generation. I think they’re moderately affective. I think the biggest thing that will happen with the age change is that you’ll get people out of the high school who can legally buy cigarettes and give them to their classmates. If its harder to access then it will be harder for the kids to maintain their addictions.

Leave a Reply

