Information Junk Food

The internet is a wonderful place. Information can be provided through the internet on every imaginable topic.  Personally, I still think it’s controlled by cats.

Here is a great cat picture:

A post shared by EMay (@ce4553dr) on

Now that I have your attention I’ll transition into the true message of this blog post. The internet is editing information we see on a daily, minute-to-minute basis. Social media is tailored to our searches and biases. So what this means for me is I look at far too many cat pictures, and now that is all I see on my feeds.

But, there is more out there in the big bad world of online. We are getting stuck with information social media and browsers want us to see. Queue awesome Mark Zuckerberg quote:

“A squirrel dying in front of your house may be more relevant to your interest right now than people dying in Africa.”

Ahhh, so I guess that means when there is a global crisis all I see is cats. I really don’t like that. Why are these big companies controlling what I see, and in turn me? Because they know I’m a consumer and like to make money off me.

Here is a Ted Talk that is relevant to our class and this topic:

https://www.ted.com/talks/eli_pariser_beware_online_filter_bubbles?language=en#t-516056

Pariser is correct we need more human gatekeepers or more flexible algorithms so we don’t get stuck in filter bubbles. I’m hoping as time progresses changes will be made so I can see what I need rather than what I want. What I need is good global news, what I want less of is pointless cat videos.

 

One thought on “Information Junk Food

  1. Could not agree more. I’d love to see a politically unbiased algorithm one that gave me the news and allowed me to be smart enough to make my own decision.

Leave a Reply

