The Rat Race is Exhausting

Who’s tired of the rat race and also having an early-life crises? I know I am. Recently, I have been feeling like something is missing. I am fortunate enough to have a job (although, I am not a fan of it), lucky enough to go to school, I have my own place and I am married to the most loving man on earth. Yet, something is missing.

I had a personal talk with my older sister the other week about this and the best thing she had for me was, “Welcome to the adult life!”  This life, as we know it, is about making ends meet so that we can continue to have the materialistic things we want. This is another reason why I want to “go tiny” and get rid of all of the “stuff” I have.

Read my Tiny House blog here.

My Passion

Mountain lake in National Park High Tatra. Dramatic overcrast sk

Some people lead the simplest lives and are the happiest people. Others lead the wealthiest lives and are the most unhappy. In my freshman year of college at the University of MN, I took a liberal arts course. At some point in that course, we reviewed the statistics of different ethnic groups and how each group was doing academically. It was so heartbreaking to see the statistics of the Hmong population and how far behind we were compared to other ethnic groups. Since seeing those statistics, I have developed a passion to work with Hmong kids. However, being in the rat race; I had every excuse to not pursue that passion.

That has led me to believe that what I am missing is a fulfilling life.

Teach English Abroad

Hmong_kids

I have not done anything fulfilling or anything to support my personal growth. I have always been more worried about making ends meet and too afraid to fall behind in the rat race. Upon graduation, I want to make it a priority to do what I am passionate about. I am interested in teaching English abroad, but I want to teach Hmong children. The problem with that is that they live in the mountains and hills of Luang Prabang, Laos. It is incredibly difficult for rural areas to get funding for teachers so anything I do there would have to be out of the kindness of my heart.

I hope to be able to get a teaching job near Luang Prabang so that after school hours; I can spend my time volunteering at Luang Prabang.

6 thoughts on “The Rat Race is Exhausting

  1. This is so true about life. The good thing though, you found out about this before you were too old or sick to do anything about your passion. The fact that you discovered your passion to help others at such a young age is a gift. Remember, there are “Go Fund Me” pages and other organizations that will help people like you realize your dream to help. I’ve learned that some people like to GO to do the work and others can’t GO so they SEND. I’ve been fortunate enough to GO a couple of times and would love to help SEND you when you get the chance. You are an amazing human and I’m glad I have the opportunity to know you.

  2. And you never know when that opportunity may arise. This year I was able to cut back on the budget and take a year working with Reading Corps to tutor. I wanted to be able to say I had given back to my community and now I have. Today was my last day at the school with the kids and I’m a little sad it’s over.

    1. Gosh, you and Keri leave me such sweet comments! I love this Christine! I applaud you for doing Reading Corp as that is something that I have wanted to do for a few years now too. The pay is so little though that I can’t afford to so I envy you. I bet it was rewarding and it makes me sad to hear that you’re sad ;(

  3. Yer if your husband is with you go for it. You will never regret it. The fact that you know there is a calling on your life is so far ahead of those who trudge thru and miss their own lives. You have the kindest disposition and you’d be a role model to the kids. I applaud you for making a choice for you and taking the path less traveled – who knows where it will lead you.

Leave a Reply

