Social networking who?

The novelty of social media online has in my opinion taken over the universe. Okay, maybe not the entire universe, but everyone that I seem to encounter can be found on a plethora of social networking sites. Such as, Twitter, Facebook, and  Instagram. Obviously there are other types of social networks that flourish on the web, but you get the gist. However, I always seem to be the odd man out when it comes communicating, or sharing via anything about myself online. Whenever I hear someone ask where can I find you on social networking sites? I always think to myself social network who? How about you email me, or if I feel comfortable enough with you to provide my cell number, a text will suffice. I constantly find myself stricken by the fact that I have not jumped on the social media bandwagon, I feel like the only person in modern times that hasn’t drank the koolaid. Social networking has become a world of it’s own, but I still cannot bring myself to succumb to it. What makes social networking a who’s who community, that should be acquainted with my profile, and membership?

One thought on “Social networking who?

  1. No, you are not the only one resisting drinking the “koolaid”! I am in complete agreement with you as my post regarding Social Media – obsession or progression identifies. My level of privacy also goes as far as not giving my cell phone number out to my immediate supervisor at work, although everyone else on our team has done so. What can’t wait until I return to work the next day? For years the universe survived without having 24-7 contact with each other. Perhaps I spend enough time with these people during a 40+ hour work week that I need some distance and downtime. Take care, and keep resisting the koolaid!

Leave a Reply

