The “intelligent” filter…

Image result for kfc sunscreen

I have seen some crazy things in my time: the 1988 California Raisins prime-time special, the Teddy Ruxbin talking teddy bear, and even the “comeback” of the Spice Girls. But of all the crazy things I’ve seen, I never thought I’d see the day when KFC would make sunscreen. They really did it!  Can’t you just imagine your skin smelling like fried chicken while you work on that perfect tan?

If there is just one thing we can learn from David Scott’s book, The New Rules of Marketing and PR, it’s how to use social media to create buzz. KFC has certainly got my attention. According to USAtoday’s website, nearly 3000 bottles were snatched up within the first two hours of its release.

Image result for kfc sunscreenIt turns out not only does it smell delicious, but it really works. The sunscreen boasts a powerful SPF rating of 30 so you won’t be “extra crispy.” While the sunscreen smells delicious, the KFC website warns you that this is NOT a food product—do not eat. I don’t know about you, but I can’t resist the smell of fried chicken; someone is going to get hurt!

Of course, this is just one piece in the puzzle of KFC’s new marketing campaign. Back in May 2016, Samantha Rae posted in her blog about KFC’s released of edible fingernail polish. While the blog is nothing more than a smattering of videos and pictures, she reminds us that KFC is willing to do almost anything.  Since then, we have seen an explosion of KFC on social media.

Well I guess we can’t knock it if it works. According to Business Insights, KFC’s sales are up to $5.3 million in profit from last year. I remember when all the KFC’s were replaced by Pop Eye’s Chicken. But If I knew I could get sunscreen, fingernail polish, and fried chicken in one stop, I would have fought to keep the KFCs. I mean, who could argue with that kind of convenience?

I admit, I have not always been a fan of their new marketing. I got really mad when Norm MacDonald replaced Darrell Hammond as Colonel Sanders. And when I finally got used to that change, they did it to me again, they replaced George Hamilton with Jim Gaffigan. I don’t even know who colonel sanders is anymore. But all in all, I think they have been really innovative with their marketing campaign. As we learn about marketing through social media, we can learn a lot from KFC. Creating a campaign for something doesn’t have to be boring, it can be goofy and still connect to the emotions of people. And if there is one thing I know about college students, they can get down on some KFC—it’s finger licking good!

 

Leave a Reply

