The Subtle Bias

I feel obligated to begin this post by telling you that I’ve often described myself as someone who is “not a political person.”  However, the older I get, the more I realize how much politics and government have an affect on my life and the lives of my family and friends.  With that in mind, I can admit to you that I’m watching this presidential election closely, I’ve watched both debates so far and it never ceases to educate me about how our country’s political system works.

6 Takeaways From The Presidential Debate

Anita Kumar and William Douglas wrote a blog on Task & Purpose, a news and blog site “geared toward the next great generation of American veterans,” titled 6 Takeaways From the Presidential Debate.  This blog was in reference to the second presidential debate between Donald Trump (R) and Hilary Clinton (D) on Sunday, October 9, 2016.  Keeping the assignment of trying to find bias and make a counter-argument in mind, I thought this would be tough.  After all, I’m one of those “if it’s on the internet, it’s probably true” people.  It turns out, bias is EVERYWHERE, you just have to be aware and look for it.  Here are the items I find worth noting in this article:

Why these 6?

Kumar and Douglas chose to discuss 1) The video (referring to Donald Trump’s video of the bus conversation), 2)  Demeanor, 3) Syria, 4) What About Taxes?, 5) The Email Scandal. Again., and 6) Health Care.  Obviously, there were more than these 6 topics and issues discussed during the debate, so why did the authors chose only 6?  And why these six?  I could think of a few more that seem to deserve some recognition.  For example, if I  was writing a report and had to highlight the main points, I would have included the final question from the audience at the end of the debate.  Karl Becker asked, “…regardless of the current rhetoric, would either of you name one positive thing that you respect in one another?”  The audience went absolutely crazy!  It was a very surprising and interesting question to ask, and we anxiously awaited the responses.  Clinton responded that she respects Trump’s children, and Trump stated that he respects her ability to “fight hard, and she doesn’t quit, and she doesn’t give up.”

The Email Scandal. Again.

This might just be my opinion, but doesn’t this subtitle alone shed some favorable bias towards Hilary Clinton?  The person who commented on this article agrees with me.  It’s as if the conversation has been talked to death, so why keep bringing it up?  Hasn’t the conversation of Donald Trump not releasing his taxes amplified in this campaign as well?  How come the title wasn’t “What About Taxes? Again.”

Paragraph Organization

Another bias I noticed while reading the article was that Hilary Clinton’s comments and rhetoric are displayed in a positive and endearing light, whereas the snip-bits of Donald Trump’s comments make him look like the enemy of this piece.  The way the paragraphs are laid out usually starts with Trump looking bad, then ending with Clinton looking good.

qr0xz6zn7jx2kll8zctt

Final Thoughts

I have read many articles published on this site and enjoy the regular content.  I respect anyone who has the guts to publish something they wrote on a public forum, and that respect is growing now that I am beginning to see how difficult it is to keep personal bias and opinion out of text, especially when it’s something as personal and passionate as politics.  This article has some great quotes and gave an accurate portrayal of the issues, but these are two people’s perspectives and they definitely wrote what they wanted YOU to read.

Leave a Reply

