Pathway to Minimalism

Image result for joshua becker blog

A little over two years ago I moved from a four bedroom three bathroom 1800 sq. foot house to a 700 sq. foot apartment.  I located, what I determined to be, the perfect apartment in a historical building in the perfect neighborhood – Cathedral Hill. When I saw it I knew it was the right fit the moment I walked into the space. I also realized that it was very small. I knew I would have to evaluate the things that I had collected over the years to determine what would deserve a spot in my new-found limited space.

Freedom from Clutter

What had started out as a difficult task to pare down my belongings, ended up being the most freeing event of my life. It is amazing how living with a lighter load and less clutter can clear your mind. The objects I owned were not only taking up my physical space, but also cluttering my psychological space.

I found that having less space to clean gave me more time to explore and enjoy my new neighborhood. Having less stuff to maintain and less room to fill with unnecessary purchases allowed me to have financial freedom to enjoy a wider range of opportunities and experiences than I had before. My life actually feels more abundant and fuller than ever, even though I have less material things.

Satisfaction and Fulfillment

I found the pathway to minimalism by accident. It was only after joining a Zen blog, https://zenhabits.net that I found a reference to minimalism, and realized it was the new found philosophy that I was living. I began to learn more about living as a minimalist and found that there is not one “right” way to practice minimalism. For me, it means that I don’t deprive myself of the good things in life – I just make sure that the things I acquire and the things that I do, bring satisfaction and fulfillment.

It’s hard to explain minimalism to friends and family without them thinking you have taken up some crazy lifestyle of deprivation. In our consumer driven society, it is hard to get people to understand that it is not the things you own that make you happy or define who you are, but the experiences you have and the time that you share.

To learn more about minimalism check out Joshua Becker’s site at: http://www.becomingminimalist.com/what-is-minimalism

 

One thought on “Pathway to Minimalism

  1. It’s cool to hear a story from someone who actually lives the minimalist lifestlye! I first learned of the concept after stumbling across a documentary on Netflix. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend checking it out. Created by Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus. Titled, “Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things.”

Leave a Reply

