30 BY 30

17f006a160694a76beff8708d8e4adde

What is 30 BY 30?

My dad once asked me if marriage had ever crossed my mind. At that time, I was only nineteen so my immediate response was “no, because I want to travel as much as I can while I’m not tied down to anything.” That was the end of his marriage conversation with me. I am twenty-five today and I am still very adamant about my decision. Over the years, I eventually gave myself a goal to reach before I settle down which brings me to my answer of what 30 BY 30 means: to travel to thirty countries by the time I am in my thirties. I even came up with a hashtag on Instagram to  help sort my travel plans and help motivate my viewers. Check it out on Instagram @ #30BY30WITHKAY

More than Motivation

I guess you could say I lied a little bit when I said I’m not tied down to anything because I am actually tied down in my student debts, job, and school. I only have fifteen days paid vacation and I could only travel during each semester break which cannot allow me to fully go wild with traveling. 30 BY 30 has helped me adjust things in my life that I wasn’t happy with. It picked me up from my negative attitude towards life, triggered me to finish school, and helped me become better at saving money. I wouldn’t say traveling is a motivation for me to get rid of these obstacles that are tying me down, it is a lifestyle for me because I know what I need to do to keep me alive. I enjoy the little steps I do now, but I know I will enjoy it to the fullest once I graduate in May 2017 because that will be my ticket to travel as much as I can to reach my goal. I also believe traveling in the twenties is a good way for me to educate myself about me as well as other cultures. WorldofWanderlust and AirTreks does a great job of explaining why it is important to travel even if you’re not in your twenties.

Time and Money

As I mentioned earlier, I can’t travel as much as I want to right now due to school, little paid vacations, and bills. However, it has not stopped me from traveling whenever I can. I make an effort to go anywhere as long as time and money allows. For instance, I love using thriftytraveler to look for any cheap flights and I just work it in my schedule. Depending on how much or little money I have will determine what type of lodging I should have. I usually look at lodging on websites on Priceline, AirBnb, and Hostelworld. I’ve been doing this for three years now and I will reach ten countries by the end of this year. This will leave me left with twenty more countries to visit before I reach my goal. I know I can do it!

One thought on “30 BY 30

Leave a Reply

