green eggs

Story time can be family time.  It’s a great opportunity for you and your children to have fun, learn and discover new ideas.  But most of all it’s the gift that keeps on giving.  Creating healthy minds, active imaginations and open minded attitudes.  Do you remember your first trip to the library?  What was your favorite childhood book?

My Story

My Mom and Dad enjoyed reading and music.  My mom encouraged us to learn a new word every day.  She would say ” There’s plenty of room in your brain for another word. Words are brain food .”   My Uncle Allen was a librarian at the New York Law School and we would do the New York Times crossword puzzle everyday and work on the Sunday  puzzle throughout the week.  Our  Sunday visits to Grandma’s house included food, fun, laughs and words.

I’ve always enjoyed reading.  It gave me a sense of independence and private time.  Just me and my stories.  My parents created “story hour”.  Each child chose a book. Weekly we would sit together and read our favorite stories to one another.  My sister Evelyn  created voices based on how she imagined the characters personalities.  The characters came alive.  My visits to the library reinforced my creativity and prepared me for all the stages of my education and motherhood.   The foundation was laid and the tradition continues.  My son Mtume Gant never leaves home without something to read.  He’s an actor, filmmaker, playwright, musician, poet and teacher.

Benefits

  • “Did you know there are health related benefits to reading to your children?”

brain development , builds language , literacy and social skills

According to the journal published by the American Academy of Pediatrics: Literacy promotion: An Essential Component of Primary Care Pediatric Practice (AAP) recommends that pediatric providers promote early literacy beginning in infancy through five years. “Parents listen and children learn.”

Unfortunately, annually 1 in 3 American children begin kindergarten without the adequate language skills they need to read,  says Pamela C High, MD, FAAP Past Chairperson on Early Childhood, Adoption, and Dependent Care

“Reading proficiency by third grade is the most significant predictor of high school graduation and career success. ” AAP News  (Lori O’Keefe) June 2014

https://www.babycenter.com/404_how-often-should-i-take-my-child-to-the-library_69643.bc

http://www.reachoutandread.org                    http://aapnews.appnews.aapublications.org/content/early/2014/06/24aapnews

Parents , I challenge you to take the lead and read to and with your children and grandchildren.  It’s the best food you can ever give a child.  Brain food!!!!!  Visit the library.  It’s free and it’s fun.

 

 

catching-the-reading-bug-hi

Leave a Reply

