All about Sunscreen

Vikki: “I am going to tan.”

Me: “Okay, do you have sunscreen? If not, I have some for you.”

Vikki: “Why? Wouldn’t sunscreen defeat the purpose of getting a tan?”

Me:  shockedemoji“Girl, let me educate you.”

Why sunscreen?

If you read my last blog, you know that have an interest and is fully invested in my skin care. Rumor has it that a good skin care will give people healthy skin and slower the aging process on the skin’s surface, but I really believe it is sunscreen that does the job. Why do I believe that? Keep reading to find out.

The sun releases 3 type ultraviolet rays: UVA, UVB and UVC. UVA rays sinks deeply in our skin. Unprotected exposure can lead to wrinkles, premature skin aging, and suppression of the immune system. UVB rays will lead to what we call, a sunburn. This is where skin cancer (most common type is Non-melanoma) can occur. We only need to worry about UVA and UVB because UVC rays don’t reach the earth’s surface. You can read more on Huffingpost  and Block Island Organics, or just Google “benefits of sunscreen” and I’m sure you will have plenty to read from.

What sunscreen is right for me?

It is very important to keep the skin protected even on cloudy days. Using a sunscreen with a Sun Protection Factor or SPF of at least 15 is recommended to protect the skin from UVB rays. And, a sunscreen with a Protection Grade of UVA or PA++ is recommended to protect the skin from UVB rays. Whether you choose a physical or chemical sunscreen is up to you as each kind acts differently. Just remember that you will need to reapply your sunscreen every two house, regardless of how high or low your SPF level is at.

Breakdown:

UVA rays: need sunscreen of at least SPF 15

UVB rays: need sunscreen of at least PA++

UVC: nothing

dermae

I have yet to find a good sunscreen for my body, but this is my current favorite sunscreen for my face.

Vikki: “I never knew that.”

Me: “Well now you do!

2 thoughts on “All about Sunscreen

Leave a Reply

