Chlorophyll: The Green Goddess

To sum it up: chlorophyll is basically what makes green plants the color green. The green pigment that chlorophyll gives plants helps these plants trap the light that they then turn into energy. It isn’t only beneficial for plants, it is actually great for humans too, and 100% natural.

Three years ago I started drinking chlorophyll. You can get it in liquid or pill form at most natural food stores. If you want to get enough chlorophyll as you do in the liquid or pill form from just eating green vegetables alone, you’d have to eat pounds of the stuff to get any of the benefits. I don’t remember how I found out about it, but I’ve been telling my friends and family to look into it ever since. My boss once asked me if I was being paid by chlorophyll to promote it…

When I first started drinking it three years ago, I would add a tablespoon of it to eight ounces of water + lemon juice, combined in a water bottle, and I would drink one of those a day, most days, for about six months. It tasted like unsweetened iced tea, which didn’t bother me. The only downside of drinking it in a water bottle like that was that when I brought it to school or work people would look at me like I was crazy. It is very green! Back then when I was drinking it regularly I had the best skin and I swear to you I never got sick.

1296x728_Liquid_Chlorophyll_Benefits_and_Risks-Risk3.jpg
Image source: http://www.healthline.com/health/liquid-chlorophyll-benefits-risks#dosage4

Besides my own experience with chlorophyll and the good things it did for me, there is much research on how chlorophyll may actually lower the risk of cancer in the liver and colon. According to an article found on the Dr. Axe website, “(liquid chlorophyll) can bind to potential carcinogens and interfere with how they’re absorbed within the human gastrointestinal track.”

Chlorophyll has many other benefits for humans. It can help protect your DNA against fried foods, it can control body odor, it can promote healthy iron levels, and it can help with Candida Albicans. Nowadays I take a shot of it instead of mixing it in with water. It doesn’t taste the best but I’ve grown to not mind it. I don’t drink it as often now, but writing this blog post about it makes me want to go buy a bottle. I sincerely believe that everyone should start drinking it. It’s worth a shot. Just remember to tell them that Adele was the one who sold you on it. 😉

Here are some more links that explain the many benefits of chlorophyll:

http://northcoastcourier.co.za/83102/chlorophyll-unsung-superfood-hero/

http://www.healthline.com/health/liquid-chlorophyll-benefits-risks

Leave a Reply

