Summer is Almost Here

This school year has been an eventful one for sure. As I sit here thinking about how quickly is flew by, I can’t help but think about all of the things that took place in between last August and now. I feel as though I accomplished quite a bit, but I am so grateful that summer is almost upon us because I am ready for a break.

I completed my last full year of school 

Although I still have Fall 2017 semester to complete until graduation, I will never again have to endure… I mean go through another full year of school again. After this semester is said and done, I only have one more to go. At this point, I am quite ready to be done. At the same time, I am rather unsure of what I want to do after graduation, but I am trying not to focus on that too much yet.

I successfully lived on my own 

I moved down to Saint Paul at the end of August to my first apartment. I had moved out before for school, but I lived with family, so it didn’t technically count as being on my own. I loved having my own place. Despite the fact that it was a lot more expensive than I had anticipated. I definitely learned some valuable lessons. Although I am a bit sad to see my apartment go, and not all that thrilled about moving back home, I am looking forward to saving some money and saying goodbye to bills for a while.

I learned how to drive a stick shift 

This may not seem that impressive to all, but to me it was a huge accomplishment. My dad graciously surprised me with a new car, and boy was I ever surprised when I discovered it was a manual. It took me quite a while before I was comfortable enough to drive my car, but now I have mastered it pretty well and I enjoy it very much.

Final Reflections 

I remember thinking to myself back in August, even back in January, how happy and great I would feel when this school year was completed. I am definitely feeling both of those things right now. I am so relieved that I made it through these last two semesters, and I am grateful that I was able to pick up a few new life-skills on the way, too.

 

 

One thought on “Summer is Almost Here

  1. Having a break and looking forward to Summer would be nice. Like you, I also feel I have accomplished a lot this school year and graduating in May. My goal for this Summer is to travel and do all things I have push aside because I didn’t have time.

Leave a Reply

