Driving Safety: Lead by example

Hold on I’m Comin’

It was a clear and dry evening.  A friend and I had just spent the afternoon shopping and having dinner.  I was low on gas; so instead of immediately getting on the freeway , I stopped at the gas station.  As I pulled into the left turn lane onto I94E the arrow was green.  While turning left and I could see a car barrolling towards me; going about 30 miles per hour.  A 17 year boy rammed into me; so hard that my car flipped onto it’s roof . My car began sliding into on- coming traffic.  All I could do was pray to God and hold on!  What happened? I clearly had the right -of -way.  But he was changing the channel on the car radio station – and  – bam- he just took off.  Never noticing that I was already in the intersection.  Fortunately, he was not hurt and I was taken to the hospital then released.  Thankfully, we both walked away in one piece.

This is not a blog post directed towards teenagers , twenty-somethings or any specific age group.  It’s a call to ALL>  I admit , I’ve never been a fan of teen drivers but not every sixteen year old is fumbling with the CD player, texting, putting on mascara or reading the paper while driving.  Yes, I said it!!!!!! Reading the paper.  I presume – it’s a version of texting while driving except no one responds back.

 

Seriously

It’s really a call to the parents, friends and family members, who are actively distracted while driving with the children watching.   Technology utilization is an integral part of our make-up today.   We are creating a generation of unsafe drivers.   I am a true believer – children mirror what they see.  In January a young mother , ran a red light and hit me because she was focused on her GPS instead of the road.  When I saw the two car seats in the back , I was truly disturbed.  She is not the first -well seasoned driver- distracted by technology.  You know who you are!  We are all guilty , on some level of erratic behavior and  poor judgement while driving.

Listed are the top distractions: How many are you guilty of doing on a daily basis?

Rank Order Distraction Type 1 Rear passenger interaction 2 Cell phone handling 3 Cell phone conversation 4 Eating 5 Smoking 6 Reaching for objects (undetermined) 7 Drinking 8 Front passenger interaction 9 Other: Car console interaction Pets Reading Music Grooming Other electronic device Other notable findings include:  Driver distraction rate for males is higher, at 30.15 percent vs. females at 27.59 percent.  The 16–29 driver age group has the highest distraction rate, at 35.46 percent.   Among vehicle types, vans/minivan drivers have the highest distraction rate, at 37.64 percent.

Check out the links.  The statistics are staggering.  Get home safe.

  young-adults-texting-on-their-smartphones-and-driving

http://minnesota.cbslocal.com/tag/distracted-driving/

https://dps.mn.gov/DIVISIONS/OTS/TEEN-DRIVING/Pages/default.aspx

https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/reports-statistics/Pages/default.aspx

https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/ots/reports-statistics/Documents/2015-distracted-survey.pdf

 

Leave a Reply

