Being Multilingual

In Public School Reviews article: Benefits of Foreign Language Education and Huffington Posts article: 6 Multilingual benefits that you only get if you speak another language, it shows that learning more than one language has more advantages than disadvantages.

For me growing up in a multilingual household, it wasn’t as difficult as people may think it is. Of course, cultures were different when I was at home versus in school but it was easy to tell what language I needed to use or not and to react a certain way or not. According to these articles and because of being multilingual, I was able to benefit cognitively by easily learning new things and understanding different reasons and beliefs to things. Whether it was English class, history class, or science, I had the ability to not just learn but to also think deeper in detail on how things could come to be.

Another topic that these two articles talk about that benefits a person who is multilingual is that it provides people with intellectual abilities and social awareness to interact with different people of different cultures. Because I lived in a different environment at home versus my school and personal life, I feel that because of that, I am very socially aware and acceptable of how different people are. I come to love different cultures and the way people view or do things and I appreciate the diversity in this world.

In many schools these days, they teach different languages and I believe it is important to provide that to students because I believe that learning a new language helps with better communication among different cultures and societies. I believe that it is very important to connect with one another to be open to each other to live as peaceful as possible and to respect one another.

Thank you,
Sophia Vu

2 thoughts on “Being Multilingual

    1. Thank you for sharing the video with me! I can totally see where your friend is coming from and I understand that everyone has a different experience. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

