The Purrrfect Solution

There is something to be connected between cats, happiness and health. Growing up we always had a cat or two, and when I asked my mom, “why do you like having cats?” She said, “because they make me happy.”

Researchers have found that owning a cat can reduce the risk of heart attacks and strokes by more than a third. Scientists said that having a cat helped to relieve stress and anxiety, which is known to help protect against heart disease by lowering blood pressure and reducing the heart rate.

The study used to prove this looked at 4,435 adults aged between 30 and 75, about half of whom owned a cat. The findings, were presented at a stroke conference in America, they showed that 3.4% of the cat owners died from a heart attack over 10 years. Among the group who had never owned a cat the rate was higher at 5.8%.

Even the CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) recognizes the health benefits of owning cats. Research has shown that cats provide emotional support, improve moods, and contribute to the overall morale of their owners. Cats make great companions and are credited with promoting socialization among the elderly and physically or mentally disabled people.

All this proven information is unnecessary for me to believe that cats can be linked to happiness, I type this as my furry black friend is sleeping right next to me with purr volume turned up high. As much as I love not having to worry about fur on my clothes, scooping poop, or wondering where all my ponytails are going, I prefer the feeling of coming home to someone that is always excited I exist – no matter what (yes, a cat is someone).

I truly believe that cats are therapeutic for many reasons more than I am able to list right meow. If a friend or acquaintence shared with me that they were feeling down and lonely, I would suggest adopting a cat. And I know you dog lovers and cat dislikers might be thinking, “you’ve cats to be kitten me,” and asking, “why not a dog?” Don’t get me wrong, I love ALL animals, especially dogs but for someone elderly or someone going through a lot of stress in their lives – cats are low key and low maintenance, they potty train themselves, are essentially self sufficient and independent. Dogs on the other hang are a large commitment that can add to the stress and are not appropriate fit for the elderly, if you are to be a proper owner, they require a lot of attention and time.

What I am getting at here is that cats can be an answer to turning up you happiness dial or adding to your health and life longevity, it has been proven and personally experienced by ME!

#blogpostoption3

#catsofinstagram #catlover #naptime

A post shared by Courtney Ignacio (@courtney_msu) on

#catlover #catsocks @profandrewc

A post shared by Courtney Ignacio (@courtney_msu) on

Do you think he knows I'm writing about him? #catlover #homeworkbuddy

A post shared by Courtney Ignacio (@courtney_msu) on

#hangoverbuddy #catlover

A post shared by Courtney Ignacio (@courtney_msu) on

Wish I was napping, thanks for the help 😑

A post shared by Courtney Ignacio (@courtney_msu) on

Leave a Reply

