Steel, Plastic or Glass?

#glassplasticsteel #whichwouldyouchoose

A post shared by Cassandra Fussy (@cp0318) on

We all know the reason why most of us use a reusable water bottle, to reduce waste and save money. But have you ever thought about what kind of water bottle is best overall and are there benefits for each? An article by Michigan State University takes a look at the pros and cons of each type of water bottle.

Stainless Steel:

This type has of material is great because it tends to outlast plastic and glass and does not release toxic chemicals when exposed to heat. They are more costly to produce than plastic but they are 100% recyclable. When choosing a stainless steel option you want to look for 18/8 which means they are 18% chromium and 8% nickel. I myself love this option for any hot drinks since they can keep the beverage warm for hours.

Plastic:

Plastic by far is the cheapest option to make which as consumers means more bang for your buck. The hard part about these is that recycling for plastic is low and people often have there reusable bottles for a short period of time. One fact I found astonishing was that it takes 700 years for a plastic bottle to decompose which is a big problem in todays society. Another issue is that many of the plastic bottles leak a chemical when they are heated or left in the sun. There are water bottles that you can buy that are BPA free, the chemical that typically is found in plastic water bottles. I use a plastic water bottle almost everyday some of the ones I own are unique where they are meant for carbonated beverages which keep it from going flat, and others for iced coffee or bottles with a straw.

Glass:

I believe we all can agree that everything tastes better out of a glass container. This option also does not leak any chemicals when exposed to heat or sunlight. One downside is that it costs more than the other two options and the recycling rate is low for them. It also is a little more fragile then the other two choices making it not last as long as plastic or steel. I honestly love my glass water bottles, I was able to find one at my local coop that had a protective layer over the glass,  (teal bottle pictured above) which I thought was awesome since I am prone to dropping things.

Overall I think all three options are still better than buying dozens of water bottles at the store. I realized that I use all three types pretty frequently, and never thought about the pros and cons of the bottle I would choose that day. Even though I am one person I know many people are making the change to using a reusable bottle. Which bottle will you choose?

-Cassandra Fussy

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

