Is Writing Letters Gone Forever?

 

My parents got married back home in Ecuador in 1984. They decided to move to the New York shortly after they got married. While they were living in New York, they tried to maintain communication with relatives back home mostly by sending letters and calling the only phone that accepted long distance phone calls in the small town. It was quite a hassle to communicate with family.

I remember when I was younger, my parents encouraged me to write my cousins letters so I could keep in touch with them, and not forget about my family that lived long-distance. Around the holidays, my parents always made sure my brothers and I wrote letters and sent greeting cards to our relatives. It became something we always did.

Hello Social Media

Times have definitely changed. Social media has made such an incredible impact in the way my family communicates with every one of our relatives. Most of us now rely on Facebook to communicate. I have cousins, aunts, and uncles who live all around the United States and Ecuador. We’ve been able to connect via Facebook, share pictures and comment on posts right away. I can’t remember the last time my parents wrote my relatives a letter. Almost everything is communicated through Facebook now.

I do miss sending and receiving letters. I guess to me it’s more personal and thoughtful when someone takes the time to write. It’s always nice to go the easy route and communicate on social media but sending a handwritten note is fun every now and then too. I still have some letters from friends and relatives who lived far away. Some of them live closer now and we’ve gone back to read what we used to write each other and they are pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

