Texting vs. Calling

cell phone

I’ve recently realized that I hardly ever talk on my phone. A lot of the communication I do on my phone is texting. It just easier and I can reply when I want to and I don’t have to pay full attention to the other person. There have been times where I ignored phones calls and just replied with a text just to avoid being on the phone having conversations with people. That sounds kind of sad but it’s my reality.

I was curious about this and decided to look up what information there was available on this. According to­­­­ and article in the Chicago Tribune, “Americans spend about 26 minutes a day texting. That compares to spending about six minutes a day on voice calls.” That is pretty ridiculous!

Texting Is More Convenient

Texting is definitely more convenient for me at times but I do prefer it over voice calls. That may be the reason why sometimes I find myself having problems having conversations with people, especially people I meet for the first time. Texting has also caused quite a few communication mix-ups. There have been times where one thing wasn’t supposed to come off a certain way and caused unnecessary conflicts. It probably could’ve been avoided by talking. Emojis didn’t help the situation. 😦

I guess talking on the phone with someone does seem to be the best way to avoid misunderstandings. Talking on the phone is also more intimate. When speaking to someone on the phone, you can get a better sense of what mood they’re in by the tone of their voice. You can’t take back what you say on the phone. With texting you can draft a message and make sure you are writing exactly what you’re trying to say. It’s really a matter of preference. I could definitely work on being a better person and start talking on the phone more often.

8 Reasons Why We Need To Go Back To Calling Instead Of Texting

http://www.chicagotribune.com/business/ct-americans-texting-00327-biz-20150326-story.html

One thought on “Texting vs. Calling

Leave a Reply

