The importance of family time

Growing up, I always had my parents and close relatives cheering me on at my soccer games. For every celebration and every event I was a part of, I always had the same group of people encouraging me and showering me with affection. We’ve always maintained a close bond and still do today. I really found it important to have that time with family, especially when I was younger. I didn’t know how much of a role this played in my life until I was older. I used to go to my cousins soccer games when he was younger and I noticed that two of the kids’ parents were almost never at any of their games. They were usually dropped off and picked up. They hardly ever had that one person cheering them on at the sideline. It made me feel bad for those kids. What if having a parent, aunt or uncle cheering them on affected their personal development?

Benefits of Family Time

I believe family time is definitely very important especially for children. According to Children’s Home Society of California, there are several benefits of spending family time together. Here are some to name a few:

  • Improves ability to learn – Reading, playing, and talking with children improves their social and academic skills.
  • Builds bonds and self-esteem – Quality time with children teaches them that they are valued, and builds a sense of security and belonging.
  • Social Education and Safety – During early childhood, children take social cues from their caregivers to learn right from wrong.

Spending time as a family can build stronger relationships, create memories, and influence children positively in the future. I definitely loved receiving the love and affection and I do encourage other families to spend more time together as well.

Outdoor adventures 👣 #memorialday #familyouting

A post shared by @my4142pv on

Leave a Reply

