Smothered Chicken Recipe

My fiance is very picky about what he eats, which makes it very hard to find recipes/meals that he’ll actually consume without complaints. I was on one of my favorite apps, Pinterest, trying to decide what to make for dinner and stumbled upon a smothered chicken recipe. After reading it, I realized it’s a very simple recipe

I tweaked the recipe a little bit to make it my own. It calls for crushed red pepper, which I love, but my fiance does not. So I decided not to add it. I also added extra garlic to give it more flavor when sauteeing the onions for the la roux. The recipe didn’t specify measurements other than for the flour when making the sauce, so I pretty much eyeballed everything else to taste. I also decided to add spinach and shredded carrots since my fiance isn’t a fan of vegetables as a snack.

While I had the chicken cooking in the oven for an hour, I debated on what to pair it with. I decided on simple white rice and mixed veggies. I made two cups in my lidded saucepan and steamed the veggies while I was waiting for the chicken to finish cooking. 

When I served it to my fiance I stared him down, waiting for a review on the dish. He smiled and did the dance he usually does when he likes something, so I know I can add this smothered chicken recipe to my list of things he’ll eat. Pinterest for the win!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.