What is meditation

I am sure you have heard how awesome meditation is and how it changes your mood and overall health, but does it really change your brain? To answer this question, we need to define what meditation and what action is should be considered meditation. If crossing your legs bare footed and closing your eyes is comes to your mind, I suggest you consider your definition of meditation. This is because I have tried crossing my legs to relax to my body and brain countless times and never satisfied once, however, when I do body movement such as stretching (yoga), cycling and so on my brain and body changes. I sleep more and have more energy throughout day. I am not sure exactly why crossing my legs and closing my eyes never worked for and I am sure there are people out there who enjoy crossing legs and consider as meditation. The idea is to find something that works for you and start meditating

1 thought on “What is meditation

  1. I love meditating! I’m glad you’ve found something that works for you. Many years ago a friend took me to the Shambhala center in Minneapolis for their intro class and I’ve never looked back. They practice an open style, with palms up, eyes open but not focusing, and a slightly open mouth to breathe. I don’t know why, but it works for me. Like most people who meditate, I have good days and bad days (why do they call it a “practice”?). Anyway, it is a very positive practice that more people should try. Thanks for the post! Eric

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.