Keanu Reeves is a staple in global pop-culture.

I’ve grown up with the movies. Some of my fondest memories are heading to the ancient video rental store and feeling like Charlie felt in the chocolate factory. So much candy (movies) at my disposal and I wanted to soak it all up. We can’t forget about television. Network or cable I was very familiar, watching everything from Nickelodeon to Cinemax – From Richard Scary’s A BUSY WORLD to THE DEVIL’S ADVOCATE with Keanu Reeves. Which, I guess, brings me to my point. Keanu Reeves.

I am a very passionate person when it comes to the art of film making – acting, writing, casting, etc. I hope to gain a career in screenwriting and casting someday. I’m saying that I feel confident in my ability to critique acting and actors. I deserve to, seeing how much I watch their work. I’ve grow up with actors and actresses watching them on screen. Watching different actors fade away or prosper. One actor that has not gone away is Keanu Reeves. With many criticizing his work and considering him to be an average actor – I’m happy to see he is still going strong even at after turning 50 years old. Most recently starring in the action movie JOHN WICK. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2AUmvWm5ZDQ

The Year is 1994 and the first movie I have ever seen with this actor is SPEED. I was only a wee lad but I knew right away that this movie was special and the star, Keanu, was going to be around for a while. SPEED became one of the biggest movies of the 90’s. With a strong supporting cast, and a stellar performance from Reeves that proved he can be an action star. Reeves showed the world consistency. In subsequent years, I’ve seen POINT BREAK, DRACULA, and RIVER’S EGDE, all good films, consistent, but SPEED put Reeves in the spotlight and he has never looked back.

One of my favorite films of his is called FEELING MINNESOTA. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0-xSv0k1fvA

Set right here in the state of Minnesota. This was a film that didn’t receive much praise. But that is a test to the stars willingness to focus on his craft. The majority didn’t like the film, but it was well made. Movies like FEELING MINNESOTA, CHAIN REACTION and JOHNNY MNEWMONIC were panned by critics and deservingly so, (I personally did like FEELING MINNESOTA) Reeves keeps going m – trucking through the 90’s with his best acting role to date in then horizon .

Most people know Reeves for his work in the MATRIX franchise. For me, it was SPEED, and my personal favorite of all his movies THE DEVIL’S ADVOCATE. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IBxD1qZnJzw this was Reeves best acting role in my eyes.

Reeves plays Kevin Lomax, a young ambitious attorney that receives a job of a lifetime when he is ask to move from Tennessee to the big city, New York. Low and behold Lomax’s new boss is the Satan himself. And now Lomax must figure out how to stop him. A great blend of supernatural with star studded performances (Al Pacino and Charlize Theron co-star) made this a must see movie in the 90’s.

Throughout the years, Keanu Reeves has been panned, praised, and all the above. But the most noticeable thing about Reeves is that – HE IS STILL HERE. He is one of the most consistent actors we have. He makes good movies (A majority of the time, CHAIN REACTION was a real stinker.) that people want to see. People pay to go see him. The purpose of this writing is to acknowledge Reeves and his longevity. Despite the heavy critics and doubters, Reeves has made blockbuster movies we have all seen, he is an international name that we will keep hearing from.

KEANU REEVES HONORABLE MENTIONS

47 RONIN

BILL AND TED’S EXCELLENT ADVENTURE

JOHN WICK

DRACULA

Leave a Reply

